Selected Empirical Data Resources for ECON 185
- Data and GIS Services
Search or browse over 350 collections of numeric and geospatial data selected for the Duke community.
- Demographic Health Statistics (Measure DHS)
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program is a project to assist developing countries to conduct and analyze surveys on population and health. The DHS Data Archive is a computerized archive of survey data collected from countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Data are currently available for 51 countries and more are being added as additional surveys are completed. For each country several datasets are usually available: Individual women's data (standard DHS survey) Household data, Male or husband's data (for some countries), Couple's data (some countries), Children's data (some countries). Data are available via FTP and registration is required.
Electronic database of international gender statistics and indicators organized by region, thematic area, and indicator.
- Guttmacher Insitute
Collection of US and Global Statistics on sexual and reproductive health.
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, is a membership-based organization which collects data from individual researchers, polling agencies, and governmental and international agencies. Its purpose is to maximize the availability and utilization of data resources by obtaining data and the technical documentation needed to access them for redistribution to its membership. Duke University's membership in ICPSR allows all Duke researchers to use ICPSR resources free of charge.
- International Data Resource Center
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) has created the International Data Resource Center (IDRC). The IDRC acts as a clearinghouse for international data housed at ICPSR. Data can be searched by subject, series, geography, or foundation.
- National Center for Health Statistics
The NCHS provides a wide range of key indicators on the state of American's health and a range of vital statistics for the US. The FASTATS guide to heatlh statistics provides quick access to key health statistics.
- OECD Health
Provides a central data collections of health statistics for OECD member states from the early 1960s to the present.
- Regional Core Health Data Initiative
Characterizes the health situation and trends in the countries of the Region of the Americas. A revamped version of Health in the Americas
- Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
The SSEDL provides direct data access to eight topical databases focusing on demography, health, and a variety of other social issues. Data archives in this collection include: the American Family Data Archive, AIDS/STD Data Archive (AIDS), Contextual Data Archive, Child Well-Being and Poverty Data Archive, Data Archive of Social Research on Aging (DASRA), Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP), Maternal Drug Abuse Data Archive (MDA), and Research Archive on Disability in the U.S. (RADIUS)
- UNHCR Statistical Online Population Database
Data and trends on refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, and other groups tracked by the UN High Commission on Refugees.
- WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
WHOSIS, the WHO Statistical Information System, is an interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. It comprises more than 70 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables.
- World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators (WDI) provides convenient access to a wide range of economic, environment, health, political, and social indicators in 226 countries. Time series data is available for many indicators from 1960 onwards. In addition to the wide range of global statistics, the WDI provides convenient data extraction tools that allow data access in Microsoft Excel and other statistical packages.
- World Health Statistics Annual
The only source that attempts to cover all countries of the world. It contains the "official" vital statistics, morbidity statistics for infectious diseases, and health resources submitted to the World Health Organization from contributing countries. A global overview is also included. Data is usually published several years after the fact.
Not finding what you're looking for? Ask a Librarian!