Skip to main content

eBook FAQ

A comprehensive FAQ to get you started with eBooks at Duke

eBooks at Duke

To checkout and download, you'll need to complete these two steps first:

1. Make an account on the ProQuest Ebook Central, in the upper right of the screen.

2. Download Adobe Digital Editions and create an account.

 

Q: What is ProQuest Ebooks Central?

A: ProQuest Ebooks Central is the eBook platform that now offers the content formerly available through EBL and ebrary. The content is mainly scholarly monographs. These eBooks are found by searching in the Duke libraries catalog.

 

Q: Must I create an account and log in to print/copy or download a book in ProQuest eBooks?

A: Yes. ProQuest Ebook Central requires an account and the use of Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) to manage check outs and downloads of eBooks. Also, this may be done on a mobile device through the app Bluefire.  Patrons new to ADE may find this step-by-step how-to handy: http://support.ebrary.com/kb/new-to-ade/

 

Q:  What does the platform look like and what are some of its features?

A: The interface looks like this:

 

Q: Can you download entire books on ProQuest Ebook Central? (As opposed to chapter-by-chapter downloading.)

A: Yes. You can also download chapters - but not all of the chapters. The resulting .pdf chapter that you download will not expire and is not subject to loan periods. Downloading a chapter occurs in the Online Reader after clicking the Read Online button. (See image  above.)

 

Q: Can multiple patrons read the same book at once, if they all choose the Read Online option, as opposed to download?

A. No. Unless the book was purchased for use by multiple concurrent users. The book is also unavailable to other readers if it has been downloaded by another patron, unless the book was bought for unlimited users. If the book is limited to one or a few concurrent users, a notice will appear on the record stating that the book is in use/unavailable for online reading and downloading by others.

 

Q: Can I tell what the copy or print limitations are for ProQuest Ebook Central?

A: Yes. This depends on how much you've already printed or copies. There is a running tally for each book you have checked out, and your print/copy allotment and up-to-date use is shown when you go to print or copy. In the page image above, these details are in the middle of the page under the heading Availability - Available for Online Reading.

 

Q: How can I tell if a book has an access restriction?

A: Beginning with eBooks purchased in 2013, there is an Access Restriction note in the books catalog record, in the details tab. This information would be useful for figuring out why a book may not be available to read/download, because some eBooks are limited to one-user-at-a-time just like the single copy of a print book, while others allow unlimited use.

Here is how you'd find out:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To check out and download, you'll need to complete these two steps first:

1. Make an account on the EBSCO eBook platform, in the upper right of the screen.

2. Download Adobe Digital Editions and create an account.

 

 

Q: What is EBSCO Ebook Collection?

A: It is an eBook platform from the publisher EBSCO that offers downloadable eBooks, mainly scholarly monographs. EBSCO eBooks can be found in the Duke Libraries catalog.

 

Q: Is an EBSCO account or log-in required for download?

A: Yes. Patrons can create an account using the Sign In link (see image below) found in the blue band header, on the upper right of the screen. You will be prompted to create an account if you have not done so prior to downloading. Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 (ADE) or higher is also required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link.

Tip: When patrons download using the Chrome browser, they may encounter this: "When downloading an eBook using the Chrome browser, the download will not automatically open but appears in the download bar at the bottom of the browser as URLLink.acsm. Click the download in the bar and select Open to open the eBook or select Always open files of this type to automatically open future EBSCO eBooks downloads in ADE."

 

Q: What does the platform look like and what are some of its features?

A: The interface looks like this: 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Q: Can an EBSCO eBook be read without downloading it?

A: Yes. There is a built in eBook viewer in the platform. It can be read by clicking the PDF Full Text link on the eBook record. However, if another patron has the book "checked out" the reader view will be unavailable until the book is ready to be checked out again.

 

Q: Can I receive an email when a book that is in use is next available for check out?

A: Yes. EBSCO will offer you this option when you try to download a book that is currently checked out. It is similar to putting a book on hold.

 

Q: Can I find out what the print/copy/access limitations are?

A: Yes. For each title, that information can be found on the EBSCO record for that book. It is in the middle of the page (see image above) and will look like this:

Q: How can I tell if an EBSCO book has an access restriction?

A: Beginning with eBooks purchased by Duke in 2013, there is an Access Restriction note in the book's catalog record, in the details tab. This information would be useful for figuring out why a book may not be available to read/download, because some eBooks are limited to one-user-at-a-time just like the single copy of a print book, while others allow unlimited use.

Here is how you'd find out:

There are many eBook collections, sometimes called packages, which are available to Duke Library patrons.  Some examples include UPSO, SpringerLINK ebooks and Wiley Online Library. Books that are in the library buildings as well as eBooks are discoverable through the Duke Libraries catalog. The catalog is the main way to discover eBooks no matter what collection, platform, publisher or vendor provides access to the title.

Unlike print books, eBooks are accompanied by the Get it @ Duke button, and they look like this:

To access the eBook, click on the Get it @ Duke button.

Apart from ProQuest Ebooks Central and EBSCO, most eBooks are available as chapter-by-chapter .pdf downloads. One of the benefits of having eBooks that are broken into chapters (as well as front and back matter) is that a reader may only want to read one chapter rather than checking out and downloading the whole book. Also, a .pdf chapter does not have to be checked back in - it is more like a .pdf of a journal article.

Here is a brief example of what a chapter-by-chapter download of an eBook looks like: http://screencast.com/t/IKd9tKgL3aN

 

 

Q: How can I access Duke's OverDrive content?

A: Access and find out more about OverDrive at Duke. The collection offers mostly leisure reading and business titles.

 

Q: What's my first step?

A: Create an OverDrive account. If you'd like to read or listen on a mobile device, download the OverDrive app (scroll to the bottom of OverDrive's app page to download the app for a variety of devices.) You may also use Adobe Digital Editions to check out and download an Over Drive eBook, if you do not prefer to use the app.

 

Q: Where are the eBooks and audiobooks on OverDrive?

A: There is a browsable set of the most popular eBooks located on the main page. You can also search the collection using the search menu in Overdrive. That menu looks like this:

Q: Can I search for content through the app?

A: Yes, though you have to "Add a Library" through the app. It is easy, the library you add is Duke Libraries!  However, the app and your OverDrive account are not automatically connected. That is, you cannot check out a book online on your computer, and have it automatically sync or download in the app.

 

Q: Who can I contact for help with OverDrive?

A: You can contact Kelley Lawton or Arianne Hartsell-Gundy.

Q: Where are the audiobooks and eBooks on NC Live?

A: You can access the collection through the Duke Libraries catalog via NC Live and OneClickDigital (through NC Live.) Primarily these titles are leisure reading. On the front page of NC LIVE, in the center of the page, the audio and Ebooks buttons offer downloadable audiobooks and eBooks. They look like this:

 

 

 

Q: What's my first step?

A: Create a OneClickDigital account.

 

Q: Are there apps associated with this content if I want to listen on a mobile device?

A: Yes. The eAudio App is called OneClickdigital. It is available via Apple's App Store and also Google Play. For downloadable eBooks, the app is available via Google Play and is called the OneClickdigital eReader.

 

Q: Are there other eBook collections available via NC Live?

A: Yes. They are:

Loading