LibGuides: U.S. Federal Government Publications: Key Databases

Comprehensive

govinfo.gov
Current and recent authenticated US federal government publications, mostly mid-1990's to present. Strong on legal and legislative material. See Help Pages. Replaces the earlier FDsys platform, to be retired in December 2018.
ProQuest Congressional [and Executive Branch] Publications
Full text of most US Congressional titles 1789-present as well as Executive Branch publications through 1945. Congressional Record since 1985.
MarciveWeb DOCS
Catalog (index only) of U.S. government publications July 1976 to the present
NTIS: National Technical Information Service
Indexes millions of technical reports of government-sponsored research; strong in sci/tech, but all topics represented
GitHub @unitedstates
Data and extraction tools for accessing a wide variety of federal information.

HeinOnline
The text of publications since their inception, focusing on law and legislation, including the Congressional Record and predecessors
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
Text of House and Senate Reports and Documents (and Journals 1953-1974); newer at FDsys
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Early US Congressional (and some Executive branch) documents, preceding the U.S. Congressional Serial Set
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Legislative histories of enacted laws back to 1929; includes text of the Congressional Record relating to these laws.
CQ Press Electronic Library
Includes several publications and databases from Congressional Quarterly that analyze and report on activities of Congress
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in this period
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Well digested research reports prepared by the Library of Congress at the request of members of Congress. Also available through ProQuest Congressional.

LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
Search for administrative, legislative and judicial materials digitized from microfiche collections of Law Library Microform Consortium

U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources and previously classified government documents relevant to US domestic and foreign policy. Includes documents from the State Department, Department of Defense, CIA, FBI, UN, National Security Council, and otehr executive agencies
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Search selected translation of articles (1995-2013) from non-United States media sources covering political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Search for English language translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science research

The Memory Hole
Saves and reposts documents the US government has pulled offline as well as other "hidden" government information. Older information at The Wayback Machine
Less Access to Less Information By and About the U.S. Government
Attempt to publicize government information that is taken offline or otherwise not publicized. Scattered information back to 1981.