This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Documentary Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Documentary Studies   Tags: courseguides, documentary_studies, subjectguide  

Guide for researching topics in documentary studies.
Last Updated: Dec 23, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/documentary_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to Duke Libraries!

This guide has been created for faculty and researchers of Documentary Studies. There are a myriad of print, electronic, and human resources available to you in support of your teaching and scholarly pursuits. Each tab of this guide will lead you to librarians and materials to help you design courses and develop your research. Please don't hesitate to contact any one of the subject specialist librarians at Duke Libraries to help you navigate our hundreds of databases and millions of books!

Digital Collections

Online (Freely available.)

 

Document magazine

 

Document and Double Take are journals of Duke's Center for Documentary Studies. Print copies of these journals are available at the Perkins and Lilly libraries.

 

 

Searching the library catalog

The library catalog lets you search for books, journals, DVDs, music, and research materials that are available in the Duke University Libraries.

When you know exactly what you want:

  • Search the library catalog by title or author of the work (Ex. Mccann, Colum).
  • Use the catalog's advanced search for the most precise searching.

When you are starting a search on a new topic:

  • Use the default keyword search to see what books we have on a particular topic (Ex. civil war).
  • Click on relevant suggested subjects for more focused search results (Ex. united states - history - civil war, 1861-1865).

 

Using Duke Libraries Subscription Databases

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Browse databases by Subject to orient yourself and find scholarly resources in specific fields.

Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

If the item you want is not available at Duke, request it from another library using Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Librarian for Film, Video & Digital Media and Women's Studies

Profile Image
Danette Pachtner
Contact Info
danette.p@duke.edu
919-660-5886
Lilly Library, Room 108
@theReelDanette
Send Email

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Kelley Lawton
Contact Info

Email Me
114 Lilly Library
919-660-5990
Need research assistance? Contact me for an appointment

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Carson Holloway
Contact Info
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries
919-660-5997
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lisa McCarty

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patrick Stawski
Contact Info
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Duke University, Box 90767
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-5823
Send Email
Subjects:
Human Rights
 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip