Skip to Main Content

ENVIRON 390K: Human Domination of the Earth/Systems Thinking: Getting Started

Research guide for Dr. James Reynolds' course, 2016

Background Information

ScienceDirect:
Includes works on biodiversity, ecology, energy, forestry, and oceanography. (You can limit your search to "Environmental Sciences" by clicking on the link under Physical Sciences.)

Encyclopedia of Global Change : Environmental Change and Human Society:

Oxford Reference Online:

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change

Key News Databases

LexisNexis Environmental Stories: environmental trade and industry news

Environment & Energy Daily: daily coverage of Congress

Greenwire: daily coverage of environmental and energy policy, politics and markets

ClimateWire: daily coverage of climate policy

Key Article Databases

Environment Complete
Find journal articles and more in this database that covers a wide variety of environmental science topics.
Web of Science
Broad coverage of scientific journals including environmental titles; tracks citations

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature in the field of economics

Proquest Science & Technology
Formerly Natural Sciences; search across ASFA, GeoRef, Illustrata as well as other environmental-related databases
Forestry Abstracts
Top forestry database
GeoRef
Covers geoscience publications including journals, books, maps, and reports
PubMed
Besides Medical and Life Sciences literature, this covers environmental health topics

Your Librarian

Linda Daniel

Google Scholar Tips

Note: Click on to expand to full screen. Advance slides forward and backward with arrows.

How do I get to Google Scholar? http://scholar.google.com/