LibGuides: Duke Environmental Leadership Program: Overview

Using the Library

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't provide online access to a particular article, you can still get it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). For each article you want, complete an Interlibrary Loan Request.

Getting Master's Projects

Master's Projects from recent years can be found online at DukeSpace.

Getting Dissertations and Theses BEYOND Duke

Proquest Dissertations - Mostly doctoral dissertations from other institutions from across the world

Data Sources

Energy Data Resources: A collection of energy data sources and tools for data analysis compiled by researchers at the Duke Energy Initiative.

Key Databases

Top environmental sciences databases

These databases range from large, interdisciplinary citation databases to health sciences-specific databases to environmentally-focused databases. Some databases will provide full-text access links, while others you will need to search for through our website. You can also browse databases by subject, such as environmental sciences or earth & ocean science.

Looking for tips on how to search a scholarly database? Check out the Search the Literature section of our literature reviews guide.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles related to agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Search for earth science journal articles and U.S. Geological Survey publications
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and actions to minimize negative impacts.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Search for review articles in biomedical and life sciences, physical sciences and social sciences

Key News Databases

Online newspapers by region
Access national and global newspapers to which Duke University Libraries has a subscription
LexisUni Environment News
Environmental news from LexisUni
ClimateWire
Daily coverage of climate policy
Greenwire
Daily coverage of environmental and energy, politics and markets

Background Information

ScienceDirect
includes works on biodiversity, ecology, energy, forestry, oceanography, and soils (limit search to "Reference Works" for background information).
Encyclopedia of Global Change
Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field
Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change
A multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it.