This is the "Getting Started" page of the " Dance, Gender and Dance-theatre of Asia and South Asia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dance, Gender and Dance-theatre of Asia and South Asia   Tags: courseguidefall 2013  

[Welcome DANCE 368.01 Gender in Dance and Theatre fall, 2013]
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/dancetheaterasia Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources

International Encyclopedia of Dance - Scholarly encyclopedia of just dance topics.  Any word typed into this db will be related to dance. Also in database form and hard copy.

Oxford Reference [Sources] - collection of scholarly online reference sources.  Select "performing arts" as a subcategory.

Encyclopedia of Religion [e-book] - database scholarly encyclopedia for religion; e-book, which means it's in a pdf-style format.

Grove Music Online - music is intimately related to dance and performance.  The Grove music is an excellent ancillary source for dance-topic issues.

 

 

Specialized Reference

Religious

Digital Dictionary of Budhism

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān

Geographic

Encyclopedia of Africa - general short-entry dictionary on Africa

Biographies

Biography Index - Contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from scholarly sources.

Biography and Geneology Master Index - Indexes readily-available biographical reference sources, people from all places, times and occupations.  NO DIRECT INFO HERE (a 2-step source to hard-copy sources).

Music

Grove Encyclopedia of Music - scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians.  Includes world music and dances

International Index to Music Peridicals, full text

 

Other recommended Guiides

Asian Studies Guide at Duke - a research guide portal for Asian topics at Duke Libraries.

 

Sexualities Studies - Woman, gendering and other related issues guide.

Theater Studies

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip