Skip to main content

DANCE 367 - Dance and Religion in Asia and Africa : Getting Started

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Dance

International Encyclopedia of Dance - Scholarly encyclopedia of just dance topics.  Any word typed into this db will be related to dance. Also in database form and hard copy.

Oxford Reference [Sources] - collection of scholarly online reference sources.  Select "performing arts" as a subcategory.

Religion

Encyclopedia of Religion [e-book] - database scholarly encyclopedia for religion; e-book, which means it's in a pdf-style format.

Music

Grove Music Online - music is intimately related to dance and performance.  The Grove music is an excellent ancillary source for dance-topic issues.

African/Black

Oxford African American studies center - Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. 

Specialized Reference

Other recommended Guiides

Specialty Database Directory

Databases by subject at Duke - just databases (by subject)

Specialty Guides - Research Guides (all)

Asian Studies Guide at Duke - a research guide portal for Asian topics at Duke Libraries.

Sexualities Studies - Woman, gendering and other related issues guide.

Theater Studies

African Studies - Karen Jean Hunt's AMAZING guide

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website / Blog Page