Skip to Main Content

Cultural Anthropology: Getting Started

This guide provides resources for your cultural anthropological research

Encyclopedias

The international encyclopedia of linguistic anthropology by Edited by James M. Stanlaw
ISBN: 9781118786093
Publication Date: 2021
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by R. Jon McGee (Editor); Richard L. Warms (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412999632
Publication Date: 2013-09-27
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by William A. Darity
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080430768
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
ISBN: 041509996X
Publication Date: 1996-10-10
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by H. James Birx (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761930297
Publication Date: 2005-12-08

Ethnographic Fieldwork

Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by Robert M. Emerson; Rachel I. Fretz; Linda L. Shaw
ISBN: 9780226206837
Publication Date: 2011-12-05
Analyzing Social Settings by Lyn H. Lofland; John Lofland; Leon Anderson; David A. Snow
ISBN: 0534528619
Publication Date: 2005-08-18
Learning from Strangers by Robert S. Weiss
ISBN: 9780029346259
Publication Date: 1993-11-08
Ethnographers before Malinowski : pioneers of anthropological fieldwork, 1870-1922 by edited by Frederico Delgado Rosa and Han F. Vermeulen
ISBN: 9781800735323
Publication Date: 2022

Dictionaries and Handbooks

Oxford Bibliographies: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in anthropology

A Dictionary of Cultural Anthropology by Luis A. Vivanco
ISBN: 9780191836688
Publication Date: 2018
SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology by Edited by Lene Pedersen and Lisa Cliggett
ISBN: 9781529756432
Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology by H. Russell Bernard (Editor); Clarence C. Gravlee (Editor)
ISBN: 9780759120709
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Mike Morris
ISBN: 9781118329344
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
Social and Cultural Anthropology: the Key Concepts by Nigel Rapport
ISBN: 9780415834520
Publication Date: 2014-07-17
Cultural Anthropology by JoAnn Jacoby; Josephine Kibbee
ISBN: 9781591583578
Publication Date: 2007-05-30

Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

Duke University Libraries
233 Perkins Library
Email: linda.daniel@duke.edu
Phone: 919-660-5927

Subjects: Cultural Anthropology, Native American Studies, Social Sciences, Sports

E-Reference Books

Here are just a few reference books that may be useful.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi O'Brien (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412909167
Publication Date: 2008-11-26
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
ISBN: 9780028659602
Publication Date: 2007-08-23
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
ISBN: 9780684805689
Publication Date: 2002-12-17
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by Sara Pendergast; Tom Pendergast; Sarah Hermsen
ISBN: 0787654175
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin; Gale (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028662695
Publication Date: 2016-01-27
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01