LibGuides: Newspapers in the Duke University Libraries: Getting Started

David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library

Introduction

If you are seeking a particular newspaper, search Duke's catalog by its title. Results may include a record for an original, microfilm, and/or digital version. Check the appropriate tab in this guide to find additional newspaper sources. Most of the electronic sources are accessible only to members of the Duke community and to visiting researchers using library terminals. The free sites are indicated. Consult a reference librarian for additional help.

Microfilm Outside of the Duke Libraries

These links will lead you to microfilm of newspapers held elsewhere, but available through Interlibrary Loan.

Center for Research Libraries Online
Has long runs of newspapers from most countries. Available for borrowing through Interlibrary Loan.
U.S. Newspaper Program
The United States Newspaper Program is a cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present. Links to individual repositories will provide information so that users can request microfilm through Interlibrary Loan.

Getting Started
Introduction, Microfilm Outside of the Duke Libraries, Original Newspapers
United States Newspapers
17th-18th Century, 19th Century, 20th-21st Century, African American Newspapers
British Newspapers
16th-18th Centuries, 19th Century, 20th-21st Centuries
Other International Newspapers
Western & Eastern Europe, Russia; Australia & New Zealand; Africa; Asia; Canada; Latin America/Caribbean; Middle East

Original Newspapers

Note that the American Antiquarian Society is the nation's chief repository for early American newspapers.

Duke holds a number of titles, including some complete runs and other incomplete collections. Many of the Rubenstein's original newspapers are listed by title in the library catalog. Others are part of collections and will not be listed by individual newspaper title in the catalog:

American Newspaper Repository Collection, 1856-2004
Consists of approximately six thousand bound newspaper volumes and more than 11,000 unbound newspaper items. Notable long runs include the World, the New York Herald Tribune, the New York Times, and the Chicago Tribune. There are also runs of foreign language and immigrant papers, such as the Yiddish Forward, the Irish World, the Greek Atlantis, trade journals, Communist papers such as the Daily Worker, and other political papers. Please use these only if the title you need is not available electronically or on microfilm or if you need a high-quality reproduction.
French World War I Prisoner of War Camp Newspapers
Newspapers were intended for French prisoners of war during World War I, and were collected from a variety of different POW camps in Europe. This collection contains examples of 11 single issues, each from a different camp. Locations include the Camp D'Ohrdruf, Camps du Hanovre, Allemagne, Camp de Zossen, and others.
German Newspaper Clippings Collection, 1900-1943
The newspaper clippings in this collection focus on political events both in Germany and abroad, in particular assassinations and political violence, and include numerous political cartoons. The clippings are arranged according to geographical area. Also included are clippings and campaign publications relating to local, state, and national elections in Germany between 1919 and 1930, as well as clippings relating to events happening internationally between 1900 and 1930. The collection also includes a small series of Nazi propaganda dating from 1939 to 1943.
German World War I Regimental Newspapers, 1914-1918
Examples of newspapers produced by German military regiments from World War I, in folders organized by front. Fronts include Italy, Turkey, Belgium, France, Romania, Poland, the Eastern Front, and Galicia (Spain). There is also a large section of miscellaneous newspapers and illustrated war papers.
Leroy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive, 1952-1998 and undated (bulk 1952-1994)
The LeRoy T. Walker Africa News Service Archive is an extensive resource file assembled by ANS over the course of two decades in support of its news gathering efforts about Africa-related issues and U. S. foreign policy towards Africa. The collection spans the years from approximately 1960 to 1995, with the bulk of the materials dating from 1978 through 1994. It includes many newspaper clippings, arranged by geographical subdivision or topic.

Evaluating Newspapers

The discerning scholar approaches a newspaper source with skepticism and questions. What is the editorial bias? Was the newspaper a mouthpiece for a particular political party? How long was it published? How large was its circulation? What other newspapers existed in the same city at that time? Did it change titles and ownership over time? Google searches may give you some answers, but scholarly books and reference sources are typically more reliable. The Chronicling America project includes a history of many individual titles. Choose the All Digitized Newspapers 1777-1963 tab, select a state, and pull up the list of newspapers that have been digitized. If the More Info column to the right of a title has Yes, click there for details about the newspaper.

For additional resources, search the library catalog by subject using this format: