Photograhs
Duke Library has an impressive collection of pictorial works(most of them are photographs) about China. An easy way to find them is to perform a search of 'China -- Pictorial works'. (English language)
Some China related historical and contemporary photography:
Historical Photographs of China: Collections of a Chinese diplomat, foreign businessmen, staff of the administrations in the Chinese treaty ports, missionaries, and officials of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service for 19th century and early 20th century.
Virtual Shanghai: contains more than 1000 images of the great metropolis from the late nineteenth century to today.
Taiwan:
- Taiwan Colonial Pictorial Works: A collection of 59 sepia photographs from Taiwan from the period 1933-1938
- The Gerald Warner Taiwan Image Collection : A photographic record of a US consul's impressions of urban and rural life in Taiwan under Japanese colonial rule.
- The Michael Lewis Taiwan Image Collection: A collection of 530 colour postcards from the period March 1918-February 1933.
- Formosa: This digital library has a large body of primarily European and American images of the island of Taiwan -- called Formosa' by foreign visitors in the 19th Century.
- Chinese modern art, including avant-garde photography;
- The city of Tianjin (formerly known as Tientsin);
- Views of the cities of Fuzhou and Yangzhou.
Art Images
Himalayan Art: database of images and links to related sites
Taoism and the Arts of China (special exhibition at The Art Institute of Chicago Museum)
Innovations in Chinese Painting (1850 - 1950) (through The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art, Ohio State University, Columbus)
China (through the Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation's World Art Treasures)
The Saatchi gallery : New Chinese Art
Asian Historical Architecture : contains over 6450 photos of 457 sites across seventeen countries. The geographical parameters of the site are limited to areas heavily influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism, or Hinduism.
Databases and Others
You can also consult with our art librarian at Lilly library, Lee Sorensen's Image Guide.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait