This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Architecture   Tags: courseguidefall10  

Resource for both History and Practising Architecture students - Chris Brasier CE 161
Last Updated: Sep 21, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/architeture Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
- variety of Oxford University Press online reference titles, many which include architecture (usually artistic and historic aspects).

Oxford Art Online
- Oxford's combined electronic art databases, including the (37-volume) Grove Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Esthetics

Engineering Research - A matrix written by the Duke Engineering Librarian for how to proceed in eningeering topics

Access Science - topical scholarly encyclopedia on science/engineering issues

Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference [various titles depending on period] Lilly N5300.P38
- the English-language history of art, including architecture.  Great Images. Great for contextualization.

 

Great Beginnings

Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture. 3 vols 
Lilly Library Reference NA680 .E495 2004
- short but scholarly discussions of buildings (Hysolar Research Institute), bios of architects (Rem Koolhaas), concepts ("Utopian Architecture")

The Greenwood encyclopedia of homes through world history. 2009  6 vols.
Lilly Library stacks and Reference NA7105 .S74 2009
- terms, buildings, countries or regions and their architecture

The Greenwood encyclopedia of homes through American history. 2008 4 vols.
Lilly Library Reference NA7205 .G745 2008
- American focus on all aspects fo domestic architecture

Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
Lilly Referance Atlas Case
- spectacular huge 'atlas-style' book on modern and post-modern architecture.  Includes anxiomatics, color pics, written history, etc.  Great fro scanning.  Basic and thorough.

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip