LibGuides: Documentary Studies: Resources

Primary Sources

Deena Stryker Photographs
Duke University Libraries

Places

David M. Rubenstein Rare Books and Manuscripts Library at Duke University
Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Directory of Special Collections Libraries at ARL Institutions

Online (Duke or other libraries only.)

List of databases of primary sources pertaining to North America available at Duke University

Online (Freely available.)

ArchiveGrid helps you find the location of papers, manuscripts and other original documents. Contact the library which holds these materials to ask about getting scans or copies of any materials not already digitized.
Internet Archive

Further Research

Writing: Master Class on Nonfiction Writing
Images: Images Collections
Film: Film & Video Resources
Photography: Photography Research
Audio: Writing Sound
Inspiration: Visual Images in the University Archives
Inspiration: Visual Literacy

Books about Documentary Studies

A selection of books on creating documentary works.

Doing documentary work by Robert Coles, 1997
Duke | Amazon

Rethinking documentary: new perspectives, new practices by Thomas Austin and Wilma de Jong, 2008
Duke | Amazon

Truth or dare: art & documentary edited by Gail Pearce & Cahal McLaughlin, 2007
Duke | Amazon

Putting documentary work to work : a guide for communities, artists, and activists by the Center for Documentary Studies, 2001

Telling True Stories: A Nonfiction Writers' Guide from the Nieman Foundation at Harvard University by Mark Kramer and Wendy Call, 2007
UNC | Amazon

Documentary edited by Julian Stallabrass, 2013
Duke | Amazon
Crafting Truth: Documentary Form and Meaning by Louise Spence and Vinicius Navarro, 2011
Duke | Amazon
Books and other works from the Center for Documentary Studies

Subject headings:

Newspapers

Online (Duke or other libraries only)

Lexis Nexis Academic (Good place to start. National and international newspapers from the past 20 years.)
America's Newspapers (Smaller American newspapers. Choose America's News to start. Selected coverage from 2000-present.)
America's Historical Newspapers (Selected coverage from 1690-2000.)
19th Century US Newspapers
18th Century Journals (Includes newspapers.)

These newspapers include the full run of the publication with complete full text online. The New York Times can be a resource for almost any topic.

Proquest Historical Newspapers:
The New York Times
Proquest Historical Newspapers:
The Washington Post
Proquest Historical Newspapers:
The Atlanta Constitution
Proquest Historical Newspapers:
The Wall Street Journal

List of databases of newspapers from North America available at Duke University

Finding Print or Microfilm Newspapers

(Freely available)

WorldCat (Online catalog for almost all university, college and public libraries in the US and some international. Use this to find newspapers, then use Interlibrary Loan at your local library to request copies of particular articles or to borrow reels of microfilm.)
United States Historical Newspapers (Directory of locations for US historical newspapers)

North Carolina

Places

North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
North Carolina State Library
North Carolina Collection at Durham County Library

Online (Freely available.)

North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
North Carolina Collection at Durham County Library
DigitalNC from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
North Carolina Echo
LINC Log Into North Carolina data and statistics from the 1960s to date
State Data Center from the North Carolina Office of State Budget and Management
North Carolina State Web Links (Links to government documents and statistics for the state compiled by Duke University.)
Eastern North Carolina Digital Library from NC Echo
Digital Durham at Duke University

Genealogy

Places

City Directories at Duke University
North Carolina State Library

Online (Freely available.)

African American History

Places

John Hope Franklin Research Center at Duke University

Online (Duke or other libraries only)

African American Newspapers 1827-1998
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers
Slavery and Anti-Slavery (Database of original documents for and against slavery.)

Online (Freely available)

Voyages: The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database at Emory University
African-American Women Online Archival Collections at Rubenstein Library, Duke University

Digital Collections

Online (Freely available.)

Duke University Libraries Digitized Collections
Documenting the American South from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
North Carolina Digital Collections from the State Library of North Carolina
American Memory Project at the Library of Congress
Digital Copies at the National Archives

Audio

Online (Freely available.)

Sound Recordings at the National Archives (choose General Type of 'Sound Recordings' and type in a search term.)
Oral History Centers and Collections
Internet Archive
American Memory Project at the Library of Congress Sound Recordings Collections
History.com Famous Speeches
Smithsonian Institute Sound Recordings