This is the "Introduction" page of the "Print Advertisements Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Print Advertisements Collections  

Print Advertisement Collections in the Hartman Center
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/content.php?pid=471205 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

7-Up Ad

 

Oscar Mayer Ad

 

Title

Guide to Print Advertisements Collections

 John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History

 

Introduction

As one of the largest advertising history collections in the world, the Hartman Center has built a reputation for its resources documenting advertising, sales and marketing. The Center maintains the records of several advertising agencies and trade organizations, the professional papers of a number of marketing executives, collections of advertising ephemera created by private collectors, and a growing library of related books and periodicals.

The Hartman Center has many print ad collections from the mid-1800s though the twentieth century.  Some such collections are associated with advertising agency archives, including JWT or Bates World Wide.  Other collections were created by advertisement collectors, and still others are part of individual advertisers’ archival collections.

In addtion, many of the Hartman Center print ads are available online.  See our digitized collections:

Ad*Access

Emergence of Advertising in America

Medicine and Madison Avenue


Also see the Duke University Library's Flickr feed, where we feature print ads from our collections from time to time. Check out Mad Men Mondays and the United War Work Campaign Scrapbook.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip