This is the "Guides" page of the "Japanese Studies Popular Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Studies Popular Culture  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/jpnpopculture Print Guide RSS Updates

Guides Print Page
  Search: 
 

Periodical Indexes

MagazinePlus
MagazinePlus indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II and 6000 volumes of collected works.  For help, see How to Use MagazinePlus.

Ōya Sōichi bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku:
大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目録。人名編;件名編
13 vols.
- Jinmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985
- Kenmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985a
- Jinmei hen 1988-95
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1997
The index to the premier collection of popular magazines. The 1985 edition indexes 48,180 people and 395,654 events published in 240,000 journals from the Meiji era to the end of 1984. There is a 50,000 word index to the subject index.

      
     

    Guides to the Study of Popular Culture

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
    Call Number: Perkins Ref: DS822.5 .E516 2002
    Entries cover literature, film, architecture, food, health, politics, economics, religion and technology, and range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer essays treating major issues and ideas in depth. Entries are signed. A-Z format. Includes cross references and suggestions for further reading.


    Cover Art
    The Otaku Encyclopedia - Patrick W. Galbraith; Frederik L. Schodt (Foreword by)
    ISBN: 9784770031013
    Publication Date: 2009-10-01

    Cover Art
    Taishū bunka jiten = Encyclopedia of popular culture 大衆文化事典
    Call Number: EA Ref: DS821 .T24 1991
    Written by 300 specialists, the dictionary aims at a broad understanding of mass (popular) culture in the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers folk culture and customs, popular music, movies, performing arts, games, comics, fashion, crimes, consumer life etc. Each entry is signed and has suggestions for further reading and a link to a table at the end of the volume. Includes a bibliography of 8500 titles related to popular culture. Subject and personal names indexes in Japanese and other languages. Well illustrated.

    Japanese Studies Librarian

    Profile Image
    Kristina Troost
    Contact Info

    Kristina K Troost, PhD
    Bostock 228, 660-5844
    kristina.troost@duke.edu


     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip