External Links
- Manuscript Sources for British History
(From the Institute of Histotrical Research) - British History Online
The digital library of text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period, built by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. - Holinshed's Chronicles of England, Scotland and Wales
The site displays the two editions of the Chronicles, published in 1577 and 1587. - IBIS Manuscript and Text Sources
From the Institute of British and Irish Studies, University of Southern California. - Renascence Editions
Works printed in English between 1477 and 1799. - CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
The online resource for Irish history, literature and politics. - CAIN Web Service Northern Ireland Conflict. Provides a wide range of information and source material on 'the Troubles' in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present.
- Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals. - Outlaws and Highwaymen
The history of highwaymen, and their predecessors, the medieval outlaws. - The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London 1674-1834
- Slave Movement during the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
Online data archive on the Atlantic Slave Trade. - Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages. - Documents on Irish Foreign Policy
From 1919-1932
Online (Duke users only)
- Primary Sources Database List
Complete list of online primary sources (Duke users only.) - The Times Digital Archive
Search The Times (London) from 1785-1985 in full-text; provides facsimile reproductions of full pages or specific articles. HINT: search in full-text rather than keyword to get the best retrieval. - Guardian and The Observer
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) provide online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment - Annual Register
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. - British History Online
digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. - Colonial State Papers
provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.. - Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries written from the 1500s to 1900s, plus several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials. - Parliament Rolls of Medieval England 1275-1504
Provides fulltext access to the Rolls of Parliament (Rotuli Parliamentorum), with full translations - House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full text of the Sessional Papers from 1801 to the present. - Periodicals Index Online
Indexes periodicals from their first issues to 1995. Now contains hundreds of full-text periodicals. - Eighteenth Century Journals II
Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals - Empire Online
Full-text database containing primary source documents about the British Empire. - 19th Century British Pamphlets
Collection of over 20,000 digitised significant British pamphlets created by Research Libraries UK. Provides primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
-
19th Century UK Periodicals: Empire
Complete runs of 91 periodicals. Sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and the National Library of Australia, the collection contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand and South Africa. - India, Raj and Empire
provides documents from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland pertaining to the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India
Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog
Parish registers: Look in online catalog
under:
REGISTERS OF BIRTHS, ETC. -- COUNTY, ENGLAND
Local record society publications: in catalog under:
COUNTY NAME, ENGLAND--HISTORY (e.g., Essex, England--History)
Primary sources:
Use SOURCES as sub-heading, eg:
Great Britain -- History – Civil War, 1642-1649 -- Sources
Diaries:
Use DIARIES as a sub-heading or keyword (or see Matthews, British Diaries, in Reference)
Other useful keywords: Papers, correspondence, biography, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps,
REGISTERS OF BIRTHS, ETC. -- COUNTY, ENGLAND
Local record society publications: in catalog under:
COUNTY NAME, ENGLAND--HISTORY (e.g., Essex, England--History)
Primary sources:
Use SOURCES as sub-heading, eg:
Great Britain -- History – Civil War, 1642-1649 -- Sources
Diaries:
Use DIARIES as a sub-heading or keyword (or see Matthews, British Diaries, in Reference)
Other useful keywords: Papers, correspondence, biography, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps,
Reprints in the Library
Record Society Publications: See online catalog
Indexed in RHS Bibliography of British and
Irish History
English Historical Documents.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks
| DA26 .E555 1953
Calendars of State Papers Domestic and Foreign: Check the online catalog also full text at British History Online.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from
the Foreign Office confidential print
JZ632.B747 (see online catalog for details.)
Great Britain. Foreign Office. Documents on
British foreign policy, 1919-1939. London, H.M. Stationery Off.,
1946-1985
DA566.7 .A18 1946
Documents on British policy overseas DA588 .D63 1984
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait