This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art and Politics - [welcome! ARTHST/VMS/LAS 290/390 - Art, Visual Culture & Politics in Central America]" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art and Politics - [welcome! ARTHST/VMS/LAS 290/390 - Art, Visual Culture & Politics in Central America]  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/artpolitics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources for Art


Oxford Art Online
- Oxford's "big four" art databases, Groveart Online and Encyclopedia of Esthetics

Oxford Reference Online
-includes photography

Encyclopedia of World Art - hardcopy only
- older, but longer essays on art topics and issue  + half of every volume is plates, may in color; - older

Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference [various titles depending on period] Lilly N5300.P38
- the standard English-language history of art.  Continuously updated.  + extra images; good beginning bibliography

 

Specialized Reference

Literature and Film Sources

Literature Resource Center - literature criticism and reviews, includes major literature

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography - criticism and analysis of literature, including plays, poetry, etc.

Biographical Dictionaries

Biography Resource Center - brief but accurate biographical sketches of people from around the world

Biography and Geneology Master Index - all people, for all places of all times; comprehesive, but redirects to other sources

World Biographical Information System - the most comprehensive biographical index, but a redirect to other sources

Period Dictionaries

Grove Dictionary of the nineteenth Century

 

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip