Think Tank Reports
Catherine's Think Tanks search engine
Search dozens of selected think tanks by topical keywords to find research and analysis using the tool above created by Duke Librarian Catherine Shreve.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.
Search engine not showing up? Use Firefox or IE 7.
Know of one that should be added? E-mail Catherine.

Peters Projection Relative Land Mass
YOU CAN ALSO SEE A LIST OF THE TOP RANKED THINK TANKS BY WORLD REGION BY GOING TO "GO TO GLOBAL THINK TANKS," A GROUP THAT RANKS THINK TANKS WORLDWIDE. THEIR LIST WILL LEAD YOU TO ADDITIONAL THINK TANKS LOCATED IN LATIN AMERICA. These organization have substantive reports on recent events.

McArthur's South Up Map
Or, you might want to make a separate search of some of the think tanks that specialize in Latin America. Except where indicated otherwise, they are located in the U.S.
Center for Democracy in the Americas
Center for International Policy
Centro para Investigacion y Docencia Economicas (CIDE, Mexico)
Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO, Argentina)
Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLAC/CEPAL, Chile)
Instituto de Estudios Superiores de Administracion (IESA, Venezuela)
Inter-American Development Bank
Washington Office on Latin America

Gall-Peters GDP Map
Databases
Alternative Press Index Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
LeftIndex The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
National Security Archive The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 37 collections consisting of over 90,000 meticulously indexed documents including collections on Chile, Colombia, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, & Peru,
Opinion Archives OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, NACLA, American Spectator, National Review, Harper's Magazine and Scientific American.
Political Science Complete A general full text database for Political Science journals.
Find Books at Duke, In the Triangle & Worldwide
The best way to find books is to search a library CATALOG. There are 3 main catalogs that you will want to use.
Duke Catalog - Shows you what is right here at Duke.
Search TRLN Search across the catalogs of Duke, UNC, NCSU and NCCU DUKE AND UNC SHARE RESPONSIBILITY FOR COLLECTNG ON LATIN AMERICA AND WE TRY NOT TO BUY THE SAME BOOKS. YOU'LL FIND A LOT MORE MATERIALS BY USING THE JOINT CATALOG. USE THE REQUEST BUTTON TO HAVE UNC MATERIALS SENT TO YOU. DELIVERIES ARE MADE DAILY
WorldCat Search catalogs from libraries across the world. USE THE "GET IT AT DUKE" BUTTON IN THIS CATALOG TO REQUEST MATERIALS.
TIPS FOR FINDING EXACTLY WHAT YOU WANT Search by keyword and find one book that looks like it meets your needs and click on the title. Then, click on the tab marked "Subjects"and find an official subject classification that fits what you are lookinG for. Click on that subject and it will lead you to more books.
Likely SUBJECT Headings for finding books on the turn toward the Left in Latin America are:
Anarchism -- Brazil -- Bibliography
Chávez Frías, Hugo. Or, look for the names of other leftist leaders.
Chile -- Politics and government -- 1973- Note: there are subject headings with significant dates that will lead you to particular events.
Communism -- Brazil -- Bibliography Note: if you add the term "Bibliography" to any subject you will find bibliographies on that subject.
Cuba -- Foreign relations -- Latin America (Or substitute another country)
Democracy -- Chile (Or, substitute another country)
Democracy -- Mexico (Or substitute another country)
Ecuador -- Democracy -- Revolution
Ecuador -- Politics and government -- 1984-
Latin America -- Politics and government -- 1980-
Labor leaders -- Brazil -- Biography
New Left -- Latin America (Or, substitute the name of a specific country)
Partido dos Trabalhadores (Brazil) (Note: you can substitute the name of any political party as a subject and find books on that party)
Peru -- Politics and government -- 1980-
Petroleum industry and trade -- Government policy -- Ecuador
Political participation -- Venezuela (Or substitute another country)
Political parties -- Latin America
Political parties -- Mexico (Or substitute another country)
Political violence -- Latin America -- History -- 20th century
Presidents -- Brazil -- Biography
Revolutions -- Latin America -- History -- 20th century
Right and left (Political science)
Silva, Luiz Inácio Lula da, 1945-., -- biografia
Social movements -- Peru (Or substitute another country)
Socialism -- Brazil (Or substitute another country)
Terrorism -- Latin America -- History -- 20th century
Venezuela -- Politics and government -- 1999-
Venezuela -- Politics and government -- 20th century
National Library Brazilia, Brazil








Loading...
