Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Iberian Studies  Tags: iberian iberian_studies spain portugao spanish portuguese courseguides courseguidespring09  

Last update: Apr 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/iberianstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Other Online Resources             Print Page
  
 

Other Online Resources

Hispanic Society of America

Official web site of the Hispanic Society of America providing information about its museum and its library for the study of the arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. It holds one of the greatest collections of Spanish imprints outside Spain.

Instituto Cervantes

The Instituto Cervantes promotes and teaches Spanish and spreads the culture of Spain and Spanish-speaking countries worldwide. The Instituto Cervantes libraries provide access to a great variety of specialized resources on Spanish and Spain and Latin American culture.

Portal del Hispanismo

This portal features three main directory databases including information on hispanists, Spanish academic departments, and Hispanic associations worldwide. It provides news on events and resources. It also links to selected open access proceedings and other research texts.

Universia

This portal is focused on the Iberoamerican university community. It provides extensive information on academic programs, research, and grants. It also includes various directories featuring topics such as academic departments, and scientific associations. Information is also organized by country covering:  Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, España, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Centro Virtual Cervantes

Gateway to resources about the Spanish language and culture. It offers digital contents on Spanish as a second language, Hispanic literature and the arts. It also includes a well-organized subject directory, Oteador, on Hispanic literature and Spanish language.

Iberia, the Caribbean and Latin America: Selected Internet Resources (Portals to the World, Library of Congress)

Guide to Internet resources specializing in Latin America and Iberia. Resources organized by country and then by topic. Selected and annotated by Library of Congress Hispanic Division staff. It includes a section devoted to information about the United States in Spanish.

Euskera

This is a main gateway to information on the Basque language. It presents information about Basque history, news on current developments and linguistic policies. It provides access to Basque data banks such as Euskalterm which contains definitions of specialized Basque vocabulary. It also links to some Basque language dictionaries. This web page is part of the Official website of the Basque Government.

Institut D'Estudis Catalans

Official web site of the Catalan Studies Institute. Of special interest, this website provides full-text to scientific journals published by this Institute and access to a Catalan dictionary created by this institution, the Diccionari de la Llengua Catalana. Some pages also available in English and Spanish.

Lletra. L'Espai Virtual de Literatura Catalana

This is an essential resource for researchers and students interested in Catalan literature. It features bio-biographical information, critical studies and links to web resources of individual writers. It also offers links to excellent web resources related to Catalan literature. Interface available in Catalan, English and Spanish.

North American Catalan Society

Official web site of this professional association that is committed to encouraging and advancing the study of Catalan language and culture in the North American academy. It provides a selective list of relevant web resources devoted to the Catalan culture.

Autores Galegos

This web site offers information on Galician writers, artists, and scientists.

Instituto da Lengua Galega

Official web site of the Galician Language Institute, a linguistics research center located at the University of Santiago de Compostela. It provides access to useful resources for those interested in the Galician language such as a database of Galician last names and a Galician language thesaurus.

Centro da Língua Portuguesa / Instituto Camões

This center is located at the University of Hamburg. The site is a gateway for Portuguese language and literature.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageHolly Ackerman
Contact Info:
holly.ackerman@duke.edu
Room 231, Bostock Library
Duke University
Durham, NC 20008
919 660 4845

Subjects:
Latin America, Caribbean, Iberia, Latino Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait