Latino Studies

Current News

• Alternative Press Index - Contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
• America's News - Electronic editions of U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news.
• Ethnic NewsWatch - Articles from over 300 minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.
• Factiva A complicated search. View the tutorial at the database guide link before searching Factiva.
• Hispanic Newsstream Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in both Spanish and English.
• Latin American Newsstream Newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean. Starting dates vary from 1995 forward.
• NexisUni Use the "Search the News" section. Select the "Source Type" from the dropdown menu. Contains thousands of newspapers.
• Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collections A database prepared by the library at U. Mass. Dartmouth.
• Zona Latina - USA  Links to websites of Latino newspapers published in the United States.

Historical Newspapers

• Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1: 1718 - 1876.- Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands
• dLOC - Digital Library of the Caribbean A growing full text archival project with newspapers from Caribbean countries including Florida.
• Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Contains historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s
• Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
• Paper of Record A searchable digital archive of historical newspapers containing newspapers from Europe and the Americas, chiefly from the 19th century, but with some running up to the 2000s with strong coverage from colonial Mexico.
• World Newspaper Archive - Latin America - A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. An extensive Latin American collection is included.

Duke University Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries and members of the Duke Community may request microfilm of newspapers from CRL via our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service.  Search their catalog below.