This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Japanese Studies Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Japanese Studies Databases   Tags: asia, bibliographic, buddhism, east_asia, encyclopedia, images, japan, newspapers  

Online databases for the study of Japan. Includes bibliographical and full-text databases, mostly in Japanese.
Last Updated: Jun 19, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/jpndb Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Articles

  • CiNii  
      
    Citation Information by NII (CiNii) is a component part of GeNii (Global environment for networked intellectual information).
  • NDL's Zasshi kiji sakuin
    Zasshi kiji sakuin indexes 15,484 periodicals (9,572 current titles and 5,912 ceased titles) published in Japan since World War II. Possible to create RSS feeds for tables of contents for journals indexed by NDL.
  • Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu  
      
    Combines content also available in other Zasshi Kiji Sakuin databases with indices of journals published in the Meiji, Taishō and early Shōwa periods; also indexes minor journals published in local prefectures and cities.

Finding information on Film

Finding books

  • Bookplus
    Indexes over 1,740,000 books published in Japan from 1926 to the present. Content summaries and tables of contents are provided for books (including novels) published after 1986.
  • GeNii
    Includes CiNii, Webcat Plus, Kaken, and Academic Research Database Repository. Also provides access to ReaD, JREC-IN, and Academic Information Resources at Universities.
  • Japanese Literature -- translations  
      
    Covers Japanese literary works translated into ot sixty-six different languages mainly from the end of World War II to the present.
  • NDL-OPAC  
      
    Online catalog for the National Diet Library; Also provides access to union list of newspaper holdings in Japan.
  • Tokyo Metropolitan Library
    Catalog also provides access to a searchable database of 8000 ukiyoe owned by the library and 646 pictures of Edo castle. 東京資料サーチ finds articles related to Tokyo published in 100 national, scholarly, and local journals between 1993 and 2003.
  • Webcat Plus
    Union catalog of the holdings of Japanese academic institutions supported by the The National Institute of Informatics in Japan. It includes about 2.5 million titles, including materials published before 1868.

Japanese Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Kristina Troost
Contact Info

Kristina K Troost, PhD
Bostock 228, 660-5844
kristina.troost@duke.edu


 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip