Religious Studies: World Religions

The Encyclopedia of Religion is a standard reference work in the field, providing a wide variety of information in its 15 volumes. Although it is not as detailed as subject-specific encyclopedias, it still provides a wealth of information and bibliography for further study. Also available electronically

This encyclopedia provides descriptions of a vast number of religious traditions from around the globe, including the many sects and denominations of major traditions. Entries are also given for individual countries with statistics on religion, and there are articles on major figures in world religions. Although it is not as in-depth as more specialized reference works, Religions of the World is great to consult for information on traditions that might otherwise be less studied.

The Historical Dictionary of Shinto provides background information and entries on many different items in the Shinto tradition. The dictionary is supplemented by a chronology, introduction, and detailed bibliography of research.

The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism is a comprehensive, four-volume work covering all aspects of Sikhism. Entries are generally detailed with a bibliography provided, making it a great starting resource for learning about a particular topic in the religion.

This two volume encyclopedia covers the diverse religious traditions of Africa, from ancient Egypt to modern day. It is the first comprehensive reference work for African religions. An excellent introduction provides background on religion in Africa, and suggestions for further reading are provided for each article to aid in continuing research.