LibGuides: Religious Studies: Judaism

Databases and e-Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning both Eastern and Western religions.

Jewish Studies Library Guide
This guide provides additional resources compiled by Duke's subject specialist in Jewish Studies, Rachel Ariel. Although the guide's scope goes beyond religion, it has many helpful resources on Jewish culture and history.

Jewish History Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Search for links to websites and resources related to Jewish History from Biblical times to the present
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search for English-language journal articles on Jewish history, activity, and thought
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel

Other Religion Databases
A broader list of databases related to subjects in religion.

Primary Resources at Rubenstein

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on Judaism in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

Judaism	Jews
Jewish Philosophy	Jewish Ethics
Judaism -- History	Judaism -- Doctrines
Bible, O.T.	Bible, O.T. -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.

Reference Books

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Call Number: Ref DS102.8 .E496 in Divinity, Perkins, and Lilly
The Encyclopaedia Judaica is the premier reference work for Jewish religion and culture. Not limited strictly to the Jewish religion, the encyclopaedia also provides coverage for major figures and concepts in Jewish history and even into present-day Israel. The second edition was published in 2007, so it is filled with recent scholarship and touches even on the current landscape of Jewish religion and Israel, and bibliographies are provided for further study. An excellent resource to consult in any topic related to Judaism or Israel. Also available electronically.
Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: Ref BM50 .E634 2005 in Divinity
This four-volume encyclopedia covers all major aspects of Judaism. Although it lacks the scope of the Encyclopaedia Judaica, the Encyclopedia of Judaism is more strictly focused on the religion rather than all things related to Jewish heritage. The two encyclopedias contain many similar entries, but they might approach the topics from different perspectives so you may want to consult both if one is not satisfactory. Some entries in this encyclopedia contain a bibliography or footnotes for further study, but not all of them.
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Call Number: Ref. BM50 .O94 2011 in Divinity
This massive book provides coverage on major Jewish terms, thought, customs, laws, and practice. Although entries are not as comprehensive as the Encyclopaedia Judaica, it still provides a wealth of information and suggestions for further reading. A great resource to consult for quickly understanding a Jewish concept or for beginning research on a particular topic. Also available electronically.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel
Call Number: Ref DS102.8 .L38 2004 in Divinity, Perkins
This resource provides definitions and short summaries of major terms, people, and places from ancient Israel. Information is drawn from both the Old Testament and recent archaeological data to provide information. A great resource to check when seeking to understand Biblical figures or places from the Old Testament.