Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Job and Career Research 

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/careerresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Jobs             Print Page
  
 

Need Help?

Duke Career Center
Location: Page Building
Phone: 660-1050
Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Check out the 'Find a Job' pages from the Career Center

Career Center Book Search

Ask a Librarian
Contact a librarian for help finding career resources in the library

 

Recommended Books

The Academic Job Search Handbook
Perkins Ref. LB2331.72 .H45 2001 (also available to Duke users in NetLibrary)

Job Hunter's Sourcebook
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. HF5382.75 .U6 J634 H947x

Non-Profits and Education Job Finder
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. HF5382.75 .U6 N66

Insider's Guide to Finding a Job in Washington: Contacts and Strategies to Build Your Career in Public Policy
Perkins Ref. HF5382.75 .U62 W356 2000

 
 

Online Resources

From the Career Center:

Duke eRecruiting
An online system that helps Duke undergraduate and graduate students explore career opportunities, research and network with employers on and off-campus, and apply for internships and full-time positions—all in one seamless platform.

CareerSearch
Provides almost a million potential employees' contact names, addresses, phone numbers, and company background information for information not found in many other career and job search resources. Access provided through the Duke University Career Center.

Internship Exchange
Provides thousands of summer jobs, internships, fellowships and other short-term opportunities. It is searchable by area of interest, geographic location, semester, educational level, salary or company name.

Internship Series Online
Online internship database that provides links to opportunities listed in 14 publications and to many employer sites. **This site is password-protected. Contact the Career Center for password info (660-1050)**

E-Mail List
Maintained by the Career Center, these email lists allow you to receive information specific to your career interests.

eLeads
Provides potential leads for internships, externships and jobs in industries where pro-active recruiting does not typically take place.

Library & Web Resources:

Career Journal
From The Wall Street Journal, the premiere career site for executives, managers, and professionals.

LinkedIn
A social networking tool for working professionals and job seekers.

Indeed
Similar to a Google search, this search engine provides a single portal to job opportunities posted on employer's websites.

O*NET Online
Occupational Information Network is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations.

International Student Job Search and Online Career Center

 
 

Books

Follow these links to lists of books & materials on jobs and employment:

Job hunting
College grads & employment

Use these same Subject Headings in a NetLibrary 'subject' search to find e-books.

 

RSS Feeds

Job-related articles from the Wall Street Journal


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait