Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Job and Career Research 

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/careerresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Company & Industry Research             Print Page
  
 

Need Help?

Duke Career Center
Location: Page Building
Phone:660-1050
Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Career Center Book Search

Ask a Librarian
Contact a librarian for help finding career resources in the library

 

Directories

The Foundation Directory (online access is available but restricted; see a Perkins Reference Librarian for assistance)
Latest at Perkins Reference Desk AS911 .A2 F686

Ward's Business directory of U.S. private and public companies
Latest in Perkins Ref. HG4057 .A565

The Career Guide: Dun's employment opportunities directory.
Parsippany, N.J. : Dun's Marketing Services, c1984- v.
Latest in Perkins Ref. HF5382.5.U5 D86

 

Online Resources

  • OneSource  
      
    includes company & industry profiles, trade articles, executive biographies & contact information. Profiles for 300,000+ public & private companies.
  • Hoover's Online Pro  
      
    includes company profiles, extensive officer lists & contact information. Profiles for 50,000+ public & private companies.
  • Standard & Poor's Net Advantage  
      
    contains company profiles and in-depth strategic and financial information on publicly held U.S. corporations. Includes company records for parent companies plus subsidiaries, divisions, and affiliates. Profiles, also includes contact information.
  • Mergent Online  
      
    contains corporate descriptions and histories, including property, subsidiaries, capital stock and officers/directors.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    contains company dossiers, officer lists and extensive company information.
  • Associations Unlimited  
      
    Provides information on associations, organizations, and professional societies. Contains detailed listings for organizations all over the world.
  • ReferenceUSA  
      
    Searchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers
 
 

Reference Resources

Hoover’s Handbooks
Current profiles of major companies and other enterprises. Profiles usually include an overview; history; listings of executives. Locations vary. Check catalog for locations.

Vault Guides
Insider guides to specific types of companies/industries. Additional Vault Guides available in the Ford Library's 'Career Collection' and the Vault library online.

The National Job Bank: a Comprehensive Guide to Major Employers in the Nations Key Job Markets
Latest in Perkins Ref. HF5382.75.U6 N38
Provides employer profiles, including contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait