Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Job and Career Research 

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/careerresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Need Help?

Duke Career Center
Location: Page Building
Phone: 660-1050
Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Career Center Book Search

Ask a Librarian
Contact a librarian for help finding career resources in the library

 

Print Resources

What Color Is Your Parachute?
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. HF5382.7 .B64

The Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Perkins Ref. HF5381 .E52 2008

Best Jobs for the 21st Century for College Graduates
Perkins Stacks HF5381 .F4563 2000

Books on career development

Career guides for college graduates

Books on career guidance

Search NetLibrary for career-related ebooks

 

Tob Job Search Engines (general)

  • Indeed  
    Searches millions of job listings. Allows users to create an account and save postings of interest.
  • LinkUp  
    Search engine that combs job listings on websites from small, mid-size and large companies.
  • SimplyHired  
    Searches job listings, websites, classifieds and company websites.
  • SiftIn  
    A meta-search of job sites (incl. indeed, simplyhired, monster.com).

Online Resources

  • Vault Online Career Library  
      
    Includes access to industry and individual company profiles. Access provided through the Duke University Career Center.
  • Career Guide to Industries  
      
    Created by the US Department of Labor. Provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement.
  • Career InfoNet  
      
    Part of the America's Job Bank network, this site provides information on hundreds of occupations.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook  
      
    A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.
  • Occupational Outlook Quarterly  
      
    provides practical information on jobs and careers. Articles are written in straightforward, non-technical language and cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics.
  • Ford Library Career Tools  
      
    Links to some recommended career tools courtesy of the Ford Library (library for Duke's Fuqua School of Business).
  • Additional Job & Career Databases (available at Duke)  
      
    A complete list of websites and databases for job and career research.
 

Chemistry Librarian

Profile ImageAnne Langley
Contact Info:
Email Anne
226 Bostock Library
919.660.1578
Office Hours:
FFSC 1213, M-W 1-3:45

Subjects:
Chemistry

 

Related Guides

Check out these subject guides:

Jobs Abroad

Business

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait