Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

French & Francophone Studies Resources 

Guide to Resources in French & Francophone Literature and History
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biography            Print Page
  
 

Literary Biography

Dictionnaire biographique des auteurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays
Paris: S. E. D. E. [1957-58, c1956]  2 volumes.
Library Service Center: 928 D554 LSC   

Kunitz, Stanley
European authors, 1000-1900 : a biographical dictionary of European literature.
New York : Wilson, 1967
Lilly Library | Reference | 920 K96E
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN451 .K8 1967

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Literature Resource Center (esp. vol. 65: French Novelists, 1900-1930; vol. 72: French Novelists, 1930-1960; vol. 83: French Novelists since 1960, and vol. 119: Nineteenth century French fiction writers, vol. 123 19th century French Fiction Writers; vol. 192: French Dramatists 1789-1914, vol. 208: French and Occitan Middle Ages; vol. 217: 19th century French poets, vol. 258: Modern French Poets, vol. 268: 17th century French writers, vol. 301: Gustave Flaubert).

Stanley J. Kunitz
Twentieth century authors : a biographical dictionary of modern literature.
New York: Wilson, 1955.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | 928 K96T, Suppl. 1

Wakeman, John
World authors.
New York: Wilson, 1975-
Lilly Library | Reference | 809.04 W927Ax
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN451 .N66

 
 

Duke Databases for Biography

  • Biography Resource Center* contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from international sources.
  • Biography and Geneology* Indexes current, readily-available biographical reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Provides over 12.7 million citations.
  • Literature Resource Center* designed for the research needs of undergraduates, the LRC provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
  • World Biographical Information System* contains biographical information on over 3.8 million people worldwide, from the 4th century BC to present. Most entries point to reference books where full articles exist, however many are accompanied by fulltext articles.
  • World Who's* provides biographical information on the world's most eminent figures, including heads of state, key ministers, politicians, diplomats, religious leaders, the famous and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, literature, fashion, sport and other professions.
 

Print

Biographie universelle, ancienne et moderne.
Paris, Michaud freres [etc.] 1811-62.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | CT143 .M5 1811

Biography index.
[v.] 1- Jan. 1946/July 1949-
New York : H.W. Wilson, 1949-
Lilly Library | Room 113 | 016.92 B615
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | CT104 .B5647

Balteau, J.
Dictionnaire de biographie française.
Paris, Letouzey et Ane, 1933-
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | CT143 .D5 1933

Nouvelle biographie générale depuis les temps les plus reculés jusqu'à nos jours, avec les renseignements bibliographiques et l'indication des sources à consulter.
Paris, Firmin Didot frères, fils et cie, 1853-66
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | CT143 .H5 1853

Who’s who in France.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | CT1000 .W467  
Who’s who in France in Lexis Nexis Academic

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait