Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

French & Francophone Studies Resources 

Guide to Resources in French & Francophone Literature and History
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Key Article Databases

Start here if you want  to find scholarly articles on your topic in academic journals: * Requires login if you are off campus

  • Academic OneFile* provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. 1980 - present  
  • Academic Search Premier* is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. 1975 - present
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index* is contained in the ISI Web of Science which provides access to the Science Citation Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from some of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world
  • CAIRN* Cairn offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. The database serves as an index to this set of journals in all disciplines, and it serves as a one-stop cross search of 56 top French Studies journals to which Duke has current full text subscriptions.
  • Dissertations &Theses* includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format
  • Google Scholar* allows search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the GetIt@Duke links for full-text (if available)
  • Historical Abstracts * Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more." This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955
  • Humanities Abstracts* covers citations and abstracts of 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. 1984 present  
  • Humanities International Complete* includes all data from the American Humanities Index, plus more international content. Strongest coverage in literature and literary arts, but also includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multi-disciplinary humanities topics. Date coverage varies by journal, with some titles included back to 1929; some full-text
  • JSTOR* is an archive for academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages. Date Coverage Varies. A typical coverage range of a journal is the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago
  • Literature Resource Center* provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Covers more than 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
  • MLA International Bibliography* provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. 1926-present
  • Periodicals Archive Online* provides archive of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It has been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online
  • Periodicals Index Online* indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Bibliographic records are included for the journals themselves. The scope is international. 1770 to 1995
  • Persee  makes available online runs of referenced, French-language journals in the field of the social and human sciences. Launched in 2004, the initiative is overseen by the Ministry of National Education, Higher Education and Research.
  • Project Muse* covers e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
  • Revues.org Provides full-text access to French journals in social and human sciences. Complete list of journals is available on the home page. Some of the journals are complete full text and some are partial full text. The project is an Open Access partnership between: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Ministère délégué à la recherche, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, and Université d'Avignon.

Specialized and Print:

 

Find More Guides Below:

Profile ImageHeidi Madden PhD MLS
Contact Info:
234 Bostock | 919.660.5984
Send Email

Subjects:
Western European Studies

 

Get help now:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait