Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

German Studies Resources 

Guide to Resources in Germanic Languages & Literature and History
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/german  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biography            Print Page
  
 

Duke Databases for Biography

  • Biography Resource Center* contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from international sources.
  • Biography and Geneology* Indexes current, readily-available biographical reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Provides over 12.7 million citations.
  • Biographie WIKI
    This is a comprehensive listing, but the entry does not include author information. Always double check citations in WorldCat*, evaluate the digital library where the copy is housed, and cite the URL
  • KLGonline* includes Biogramme
  • Literature Resource Center* designed for the research needs of undergraduates, the LRC provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
  • ADB & NDB Gesamtregister*.
    Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek. Edition 1. Ausg. Berlin : Duncker & Humblot, 2003. Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference CD-ROM on Reserve | C219 . See also:
    Electronische Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie and Neue Deutsche Biographie Index. Available online; ADB is full text; NDB is indexed to the print at this time.
  • World Biographical Information System* contains biographical information on over 3.8 million people worldwide, from the 4th century BC to present. Most entries point to reference books where full articles exist, however many are accompanied by fulltext articles.
  • World Who's* provides biographical information on the world's most eminent figures, including heads of state, key ministers, politicians, diplomats, religious leaders, the famous and successful in business, finance, technology, film, music, literature, fashion, sport and other professions.
 

Print Resources for Biography

 
 

Find more

 

Search the catalog for:

  • German literature--Bio-bibliography
  • German literature--Biography

to discover other biographies.

 

Internet

Biographie WIKI Listing of German Biography Dictionaries
This is a comprehensive listing of biography reference works, some online. As with all community sites, investigate the source before you cite, see these tips.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait