Japanese Government Portal Site for e-government
A searchable site for Japanese Government information. Provides links
to Ministry Homepages, Shingikai minutes, White Papers, statistical
information, an index of laws searchable by name, keyword or number
(some full text). There is an English search but no English site.
Japan Considered Podcast
Weekly programs of analysis and commentary on Japan’s domestic politics
and foreign relations. Role of the prime minister and cabinet, changes
in Japan's domestic political environment, connecting voters and
candidates, constitutional revision, and Japan’s relations with other
Asian nations. These broadcasts are created by Japan Considered Project
creator/maintainer, Robert Angel, and include short interviews with
other specialists on Japanese politics and international relations.
Japan Echo Web
Website contains both Japan Echo Web and the Chinese-language Yueyang Jujiao: Riben Luntan.These online journals present translations in English and Chinese of
essays, commentaries, reviews, dialogues, and interviews by Japanese
academics, specialists, and critics. The goal is to present a
wide-ranging picture of domestic views of the conditions and the policy
landscape in Japan, including the fields of diplomacy, politics,
economy, society, and culture.
Japan Focus
Japan Focus presents writings about Japan, Japan in Asia and the world,
as well as Japanese and international perspectives on contemporary
Japanese politics, economics, society, and culture. It offers
translations from Japanese, reprints of important English language
texts, and Japan Focus originals. A subscription link to their weekly
newsletter is available on the website.
Japan Politics Central http://jpcentral.virginia.edu/
JP Central provides a searchable database on Japanese politicians that was donated to the University of Virginia
by Dynamic Strategies Asia in 2003. Other resources, including
information on Japanese election results and public policy debates,
were developed by the Japan Political Studies Group under the
leadership of Leonard Schoppa. Has an extensive bibliography on 50 key topics.
Political Resources
Contains links to articles on Japanese politics, a full text version of
the Japanese Constitution, as well as official party websites. Follow
the "back" button at bottom of page for similar resources for the rest
of Asia and the world.
JGuide to Japanese Government information
Provides links to information on cabinet level agencies (ministries), the Imperial family, interest groups, international relations, judicial information, the National Diet, other governmental information, political parties and regional governments.
