Articles and Databases
Find articles and book chapters in these online indexes/databases
- Complete list of Duke’s databases with film-related content.
Some of the best film studies databases, available to Duke users via the Library's subscriptions, include:
Print Resources
Print resources
The Film & Video book collection supports the curricular and research needs of courses taught in the Program in the Arts of the Moving Image as well as the many related film courses taught across other departments at Duke. Lilly Library houses the primary collection of general works on motion pictures and video, but additional materials, especially reference works, may also be found in Perkins Library, Music Library, Divinity Library, Goodson Law Library, Ford Library, Medical Center Library. Many items are also housed off-site, and can be requested from the Library Service Center.
Call numbers specifically dedicated to Film & Video-related books and serials include:
- Library of Congress call numbers PN1993-PN1999
Film studies relates to a variety of disciplines, so be sure to search our catalog to see the variety of related works available on any topic.
The collection is international in scope, with strengths in theory, criticism, and biographies. Other areas covered are film history, genres, film production, film scripts, film as an art form, and film as a cultural phenomenon. An international selection of film journals are collected and housed in Lilly Library. Other periodical titles are accessible through online databases.
Internet Resources
Film reference sites
To look up titles and reference information, as well as news and reviews, try these helpful sites.
Reviews and criticism
To find reviews and film criticism, check out these sites.
- Educational Moview Reviews Online
- Film Resources on the Web
- MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
- Rotten Tomatoes
Other libraries and resource guides
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Film/Video/Digital Media |
Need Help?
Stuck? Ask a Librarian!







Loading...
