This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History and Practice of Dance and Dance Theater of India" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History and Practice of Dance and Dance Theater of India   Tags: courseguidefall10, dance, india, south_asia, theater  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/dance_india Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources

International Encyclopedia of Dance - Scholarly encyclopedia of just dance topics.  Any word typed into this db will be related to dance. Also in hard copy.

Oxford Reference [Sources] Premiere - Performance - collection of scholarly online reference sources on the performing arts.

Duke Libraries' subject datbase page for DANCE resources - a group of reference sources and databases potentially covering dance

 

Specialized Reference

Cultural

Digital South Asia Library - maps, indexs, websites on topics of south Asia

National Portal of India - government portal/clearing house on India

 

Reference Material

Roy, Kumkum. Historical dictionary of ancient India.  2009 
Perkins: Reference DS451 .R66 2009
 

Current South Asia News (Duke portal)

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān

Biographies

Biography Index - Contains more than one million thumbnail biographies from scholarly sources.

Biography and Geneology Master Index - Indexes readily-available biographical reference sources, people from all places, times and occupations.  NO DIRECT INFO HERE (a 2-step source to hard-copy sources).

Music

Grove Encyclopedia of Music - scholarly encyclopedia of music and musicians.  Includes world music and dances

International Index to Music Peridicals, full text

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip