Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

African Studies  Tags: african  

The Duke University African Studies collection supports scholarly activities over a broad range of disciplines and topics that address contemporary African issues.
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/africa  Print Guide  RSS Updates

African Studies Materials             Print Page
  
 

Digital Collections

Digitized primary sources relating to the economic, social, cultural, and political history of post-bellum Durham, NC, from the 1870s to the 1920s.

A database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

Digital images of over 16,000 pages of sheet music from 3042 pieces published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

A database of images from various collections held by the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library. The database contains 1000 images from fourteen different collections pertaining to the theme "The Urban Landscape," and can be searched or browsed.

An on-line collection featuring transcribed texts and scanned images of over 40 articles, pamphlets, flyers, and booklets published from 1969 to 1974 which reflect the diversity of theory and activities characterizing the early years of the U.S. Women's Liberation Movement.

 
 

Middle Passage

Ship Christopher's Book 4th Voyage (1791-1792)
Logbook 1791-1792 - Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, Duke University Libraries

An account of the slave trade on the coast of Africa.  (1788)
C-9 E58S v. 1 no. 4 - Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, Duke University Libraries

The African squadron; Ashburton treaty; consular sea letters. Reviewed, in an address by Commander A. H. Foote, U. S. N. ([1855])
Bd.Pam.326.4 Z99E v. 4 no. 70 - Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, Duke University Libraries

An appeal to the professors of Christianity : in the southern states and elsewhere, on the subject of slavery (1842)
Bd.Pam.326.4 F912 v. 1 no. 14 - Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, Duke University Libraries

 

African American Women

African-American Women

Online Archival Collections
Special Collections Library, Duke University

*Elizabeth Johnson Harris: Life Story

Elizabeth Johnson Harris was born in Augusta, Georgia, in 1867 to parents who had been slaves. Her 85 page handwritten memoir provides glimpses of her early childhood, of race relations, of her own ambivalence about her place as an African-American in society, and of the importance of religion and education in her life. This on-line collection includes full text of her memoirs as well as several of her poems and vignettes that were published in various newspapers during her lifetime.

*Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson: Slave Letters

Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson were house slaves at Montcalm, the family home of David and Mary Campbell, located in Abingdon, Virginia. During the years David Campbell served as Governor of Virginia (1847-1850), he and his family moved into the Governor's mansion in Richmond, taking several of their slaves with them but leaving Hannah and Lethe to care for the homestead. These letters were written by Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson to their mistresses and other slave family members during this time period. The letters provide a rare firsthand glimpse into the lives of slaves and the relationships they had with their owners.

*Vilet Lester Letter

Slave letters are very rare documents. This letter from Vilet Lester is one of less than a dozen such letters we have been able to identify among the vast amount of plantation records held at the Duke Special Collections Library. In this particular case, Vilet's letter stands alone with virtually no other documents - no slave lists, work records, or owner's letters - to give us further information about her. Although many of the facts of Vilet Lester's life may be elusive, she still gives us a rare and precious view into slave life through this letter.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKaren Jean Hunt

Stuck? Ask a Librarian!



 
Description

  Loading content... please wait