Quick Links
- Africa-Wide NiPAD
Provides multi-disciplinary coverage about Africa. - AfricaBib.org
Indexes Africana journal literature, and Africa Women's Studies. - AllAfrica.com - Africa News Online
Provides an extensive range of news services on Africa. - African newpapers currently received by American libraries "African Newspapers Currently Received by American Libraries," first issued as an ALC project in 1975, was compiled by Mette Shayne, Northwestern University, and is available via the Center for Research Libraries website.
Reference Works
- Africa : a guide to reference material
This new second edition contains 3,600 for the most part annotated entries, covering encyclopaedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, atlases and gazetteers, almanacs, yearbooks, topographic reference sources, and directories of organizations. - Reference guide to Africa : a bibliography of sources
A resource including indexes, bibliographies, handbooks, guides, directories, electronic sources, and websites, as well as a subject sources section with an annotated overview of sources. - Research, reference service, and resources for the study of Africa
This work focuses on the study of Africa and presents solutions to common problems in the study of Africa, such as Internet accessibility problems, the imposition of the colonial legacy, and dealing with gender and class bias.
Welcome
Welcome to the Duke University Libraries subject guide for Selected African Studies Reference Resources ! Please use the tabs above to find information for your research and interest. If you have any questions or comments about this guide please let me know!

For North Africa, see Middle Eastern Studies
Featured Resources

What is Aluka?
Aluka is a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. The collections in Aluka are made available to educational, research, and cultural institutions around the world. During 2008, Aluka is expected to become part of JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization building trusted digital archives for scholarship. JSTOR makes available archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
To Learn more about ALUKA click here
Subject Guide |
Karen Jean HuntStuck? Ask a Librarian!
RBMSCL
rm. 206f
660-5922
Send Email
Subjects:
African Studies, African American Studies, RBMSCL
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait