Bibliography
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Art History - a Graduate Guide  Tags: courseguides  

Last update: Apr 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/literature-of-art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Literature of Art History             Print Page
  
 

Bibliography

Literature of Art History |  Core Bibliography                              
© 1998-2008  Lee Sorensen, Duke University Libraries

§ = electronic database open to Duke researchers only

Table of Contents                                                                                                                       

I.  Bibliography

 

    General
    In Print
    Art & Art-useful Bibliography
 

Indexing Sources

 

    General, including Art
    Art Specifically
    Serial Holdings Lists
 

Art Literature Studies

 

    Readers (collected essays for an overview of art)
    Commentaries
    Festschriften
    Bibliographies by Period
    Printed Museum Library Catalogs

 

II. Reference

 

    Encyclopedias of Art
    Encyclopedias - Others Useful for Art
    Historiographies
    Bibliographic Series
    Histories of Art

Scholarly Encyclopedias

 

    Ancillary Disciplines
    Philosophy & Esthetics
    Religion
    Popular Culture
    African-American

Dictionaries

 

    General
    Textual
    Quotations on Art/by Artists
    Symbols and Iconology
    Mythology

Writing Guides

 

Archives &  Collections

 

Biographies

 

    General
    Artists - World-Wide
    American
    Other Countries
    Women
    African-American
    Saints ("Hagiographies")
    Art Historians

Museums/Organizations

 

Auction Indexes

 

    Auction Records

 

Signatures and Marks

 

Reference Works

 

    -by Artistic Period
    Ancient
    Medieval
    Renaissance
    Baroque
    Modern
 

- by Medium

 

    Prints
    Architecture

 

 

Locating Images

 

 

Image Theory

  

Publishing Initiatives (Series worth remembering) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

III.  Internet

 

    Guides to Searching
    Portals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I.  Bibliography

General

ONLINE

 

1.1

 

 

Worldcat (Online Consortia for Library Catalogs) § 
~ Bibliographic "utility," consortial, includes holdings of most American and a handful of European libraries.

 

 

 

1.2

 

 

Google Scholar - Google Corp's inventory of books online.  General subject as well as art history.

 

 

 

 

Hard copy

 

 

 

2.1

 

British Library.  The British Library General Catalogue of Printed Books to 1975.   360 vols.   New York : K.G. Saur, 1979-1987. Perkins Reference --- Quarto 018.1 B862, G326, 1979

 

 

 

2.2

 

 

 The National Union Catalog, Pre-1956 Imprints.  London, Mansell.  1968-75. Perkins --- Oversize 018.1 U58CB
~ Despite being printed in London, this "nation" of this national union catalog is the United States.

 

 

 

2.3

 

 

Goff, Frederick.  Incunabula in American Libraries; a Third Census of Fifteenth-Century Books Recorded in North American Collections. Reproduced from the annotated copy maintained by Frederick R. Goff, compiler and editor.  Millwood, N.Y., Kraus Reprint Co., 1973 [c1964] Perkins Reference --- Quarto 016.093 S857C  

 

 

 

 

In-Print Indexes

 

 

 

3.1

 

Global Books in Print §  Reference Website http://www.globalbooksinprint.com/bip/default.asp
~ BIP  in an electronic form

 

 

 

3.2

 

Books in Print.  New York, R. R. Bowker Co.  1948- . Perkins Reference --- 015.73 P976B, Lilly Ready Reference --- 015.73 P976B

 

 

 

3.3

 

Les Livres disponibles = French Books in Print.  Paris:  Cercle de la librairie.  1977- Perkins Reference --- q 015.44 L784x

 

 

 

3.4

 

Verzeichnis lieferbarer Bücher. = Subject Guide to German Books in Print .  Frankfurt am Main:  Verlag der Buchhändler-Vereinigung, 1979- . Perkins Reference --- 015.43 V574S

 

 

 

3.5

 

Whitaker's Books in Print.  London: J. Whitaker & Sons, Ltd., 1988- Perkins --- 015.42 R332 , Perkins Reference --- 015.42 R332  

 

 

 

 

 

~n.b. Amazon.com, Barnes&nobel.com,  and other electronic vendors are selective in what they offer, particularly within the research fields.

 

 

 

 

Art & Art-useful Bibliography

 

 

 

4.1

 

Guide to the literature of art history 2.  Max Marmor, Alex Ross.  Chicago : American Library Association, 2005. Lilly N380 .M374 2004

 

 

 

4.2

 

 

Guide to the Literature of Art History. Arntzen, Etta and Robert Rainwater.   Chicago:  American Library Association, 1980.  Lilly Reference --- 016.709 A767, G946, 1980, Perkins Reference --- Quarto 016.709 A767, G946, 1980  

 

 

 

4.3

 

Art books, 1876-1949:  Including an International Index of Current Serial Publications.  New York: R.R. Bowker Co., c1981. Lilly Reference --- 016.7 A784, 1981

 

 

 

 

 

Art books, 1950-1979:  Including an International Directory of Museum Permanent Collection Catalogs.  New York and London : Bowker, c1979. Lilly Reference --- 016.7 A784, 1979

Art books 1980-1984: Including an International Index of Current and Ceased Serial Publications.  New York : Bowker, c1985. Lilly Reference --- 016.7 A784, 1985

 

 

 

4.4

 

 

 

Balay, Robert, ed.  Guide to reference books. 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996.
~A comprehensive listing of general reference sources in many languages. The standard source all research librarians use. Lilly Ready Reference --- 011.02 G946, 1996, Perkins Reference Desk --- Quarto 011.02 G946, 1996   and additional holdings at the Ford, Divinity, Law and Medical Center Libraries

 

 

 

4.5

 

 

 

Besterman, Theodore.  Art and Architecture:  A bibliography of Bibliographies.  Totowa, NJ:  Rowaman & Littlefield, 1971.  Library Service Center --- 016.7 B561A
~ An excerpt from his magnum opus, A World Bibliography of Bibliographies and of Bibliographical Catalogues, Calendars, Abstracts, Digests, Indexes, and the Like.  2 vols.  3rd and final ed., rev. and greatly enl. throughout. New York : Scarecrow Press, c1955-56.

 

 

 

4.6

 

 

___.  Old Art Books:  Collected and Catalogued by Theodore Besterman.  London : Maggs Bros. Ltd, 1975. Special Collections Library --- Biblio fB561O
~ Rare book material from his personal collection.  Mostly pre-modern illustrated books.  [The Getty Center bought his collection as part of its rare book collection].

 

 

 

4.7

 

Chamberlin, Mary W.  Guide to Art Rreference Books.  Chicago:  American Library Association, 1959. Lilly Reference --- 016.7 C443G  

 

 

 

4.8

 

 

Cicognara, Leopoldo.  Catalogo ragionato dei Libri d'Arte e d'Antichita.  2 vols.  Pisa:  Capurro, 1821.  Reprint, Leipzig, K. W. Hiersemann, 1931;  Cosenza:  Casa del libro, 1960.  Lilly --- 016.7 C568C
~ Supplement issued by Fabia Borroni (1954-67).

 

 

 

4.9

 

 

Freitag, Wolfgang.  Art Books: a Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 2nd ed. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities 1264. New York:  Garland, 1997. Lilly Ready Reference --- 016.9092 A784, 1997

 

 

 

4.10

 

 

Jones, Lois Swan.  Art Information : Research Methods and Resources.  3rd ed. Dubuque, Iowa : Kendall/Hunt Pub. Co., c1990. Lilly Ready Reference --- 707.2 J77, A784, 1990

see also the internet guide section

 

 

 

4.11

 

 

Lucas, Edna Louise.  Books on Art; a Foundation List.  (Harvard-Radcliffe fine arts series).  Cambridge, Mass., Fogg museum of art, Harvard university, 1938. Library Service Center --- 016.7 L933B

 

 

 

 

 

[South Kensington Museum] = National Art Library (Great Britain).  [First Proofs of the] Universal Catalogue of Books on Art.  3 vols.  reprint, New York, B. Franklin [1964] (Burt Franklin bibliography and reference series, #47).: Edited by J. H. Pollen.  Lilly Reference --- 016.7 V645U
~ Not limited to books in the National Art Library, also includes Bodleian, BM, Trinity College, Dublin, etc.

 

 

 

Indexing Sources (formerly "Periodicals Indexes")

 

 

GENERAL - USEFUL FOR ART

FULL-TEXT

 

 

 

 

5.1

 

Expanded academic ASAP. [electronic www file.] Foster City, Calif.: Information Access Company.

 

 

 

5.2

 

ProQuest §  Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International.
~ Indexing: 1971 to date; full-text: 1991 to date; image: 1987 to date. Updated daily.

 

 

 

5.3

 

 

LexisNexis Academic § [electronic www file.] Dayton, OH : LEXIS-NEXIS. 
~Most powerful in the art context for finding art reviews and articles in major-city newspapers like the New York Times, Washington Post, etc.  Coverage of magazine or newspaper depends upon the individual title.

 

 

 

5.4

 

 

American humanities index online, 1975- [electronic resource]. New York : Whitston Publishing Co., 2000-
~useful for "art" subject articles that fall outside the mainstream art journals. 

 

 

 

 

ART

    ONLINE

 

 

 

6.1

 

Art Abstracts Databases (combined) see also, PRINT sources
~ since 2002, combined electronic search in both Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective

 

 

 

 

 

a.

 

Art Abstracts § [Art/Architecture databases list] Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson Company, 1984.
~Indexes more than 200 international arts publications published since 1984.

 

 

 

 

 

b.

 

Art Index Retrospective § [Art/Architecture databases list]
~Indexes international art publications published from 1929 to 1984.

 

 

 

6.2

 

 

ARTbibliographies modern § [Art/Architecture databases list]
~citations to articles about art of the late 19th and 20th century.  Good for photography.  Provides the best abstracts of the literature of modern art. Strong foreign journal representation   

 

 

 

6.3

 

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. § [Art/Architecture databases list]
  1978 to present (via Web of Science platform)
~An interdisciplinary index of academic literature that can also be used for citation searching.  Do not use for subject searching.  Best for tracing subjects where no standard vocabulary is prominent.

 

 

 

6.4

 

 

L'année philologique. vol. 40 (1969-2001).    Earlier volumes, see hardcopy.
~  Covers classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, archaeology, history, and philosophy. Covers the time period from prehistory to Medieval times. Written in French.  Indexes about 1,000 periodicals written in various Western languages, including English.  Best for literary sources and subject matter in art objects.  Includes book reviews, Festschriften, and materials from congresses.

 

 

 

6.5

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals § [Art/Architecture databases list]
~Provides citations to articles from over 1000 architecture journals. 

 

 

 

6.6

 

 

 

Bibliography of the History of Art § [Art/Architecture databases list]
~Current literature of European and American art from late antiquity to the present.  Includes book reviews, essays included in books, articles and panels discussed in conference proceedings.  Begins in 1989, however, earlier entries appear in French because of conflation with the Repertoire d'Art et Archaeologie (from 1977).

 

 

 

6.7

 

 

DYABOLA   § Ennepetal: Biering und Brinkmann.
~Subject catalog of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut.  Covers classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early medieval and ancient middle eastern antiquities, art and archaeology. Polyglot, but principally German language.  Better for archaeological and material culture subjects than the L'annee.  The most un-user friendly electronic product!

 

 

 

6.8

 

 

 

Index of Christian Art § [Art/Architecture databases list]  Princeton University.  Getty Research Institute.
~A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects.  Based on The Index of Christian Art, a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400 begun at Princeton University in 1917. The database contains works indexed by the archive since 1991.. 

 

 

 

6.9

 

 

Index to 19th-century American Art Periodicals § [Art/Architecture databases list] Mountain View, CA: Research Libraries Group, 1998.
~Indexes 42 art journals published in the United States during the nineteenth century. 

 

 

 

6.10

 

 

International Medieval Bibliography §  International Medieval Institute; Turnhout: Brepols Publishers, 1967-  International medieval bibliography
~Indexes articles about the European Middle Ages, from A.D. 450-1500.   A hardcopy version also exists.

 

 

 

 

PRINT

 

 

 

7.1

 

 

Art Index.   (hardcopy) New York, H. W. Wilson, 1933-89 . Lilly Reference Shelved in Room 113 --- 016.7 A784   Online as Art Index Retrospective (1929-84) and Art Abstracts (1985-)
 ~Hardcopy version of Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective.  Since book reviews were left out of the AIR, it's still nice to keep the hardcopy product around.

 

 

 

7.2

 

 

 

African-American Artists on Disc   (Web-CD, Lilly Art Station). Igoe, Lynn; Igoe, James, ed.   New York, NY:  G.K. Hall & Co., Lilly Computer disk --- C121
~CD version of Lynn and Jim Igoe's 250 years of Afro-American Art.  Identifies more than 8,000 African-American fine, vernacular, and craft artists, as well as art historians, museum and gallery directors, and curators. Contains bibliographical references to artists and also to art movements and other broad historical concepts. Includes artists' biographies and citations to reproductions of the artists' work.

 

 

 

7.3

 

 

 

L'année philologique. vol. 1- (1924-2000). see online version, above.  Perkins Reference Index Area --- 880.21 M356A
~  Covers classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, archaeology, history, and philosophy. Covers the time period from prehistory to Medieval times. Written in French.  Indexes about 1,000 periodicals written in various Western languages, including English.  Best for literary sources and subject matter in art objects.  Includes book reviews, Festschriften, and materials from congresses.

 

 

 

 

Serial (Journal backrun) Holdings

 

 

 

8.1

 

 

 

 

Union List of Serials in Libraries of the United States and Canada. 3rd ed.  4 vols.  American Library Association.  New York : H.W. Wilson Co., 1965 Lilly Reference --- 016.05 U58A, Perkins Reference --- Oversize 016.05 U58A,  and additional holdings at the Vesic, Marine Lab and Medical Center Libraries.
.~Most serial subscription holdings are either on OCLC or RLIN.  The exception, still, are the unusual or rare holdings, which are slow to be retrospectively converted.  This is a snapshot of what was held in libraries up to 1964.  It also included individual issues, unlike the bibliographic utilities, so that you can be certain an issue is available.

 

 

 

 

 

also, Worldcat and RLG databases

 

 

 

 

Art Literature Studies

 

 

 

9.1

 

 

Keinbauer, W. Eugene.  Research Guide to the History of Western Art.  (Sources of Information in the Humanities, no. 2).  Chicago:  American Library Association, 1982. Lilly Reference --- 709 K64, R432, 1982

 

 

 

9.2

 

 

Lützeler, Heinrich. Kunsterfahrung und Kunstwissenschaft : systematische und entwicklungsgeschichtliche Darstellung und Dokumentation des Umgangs mit der bildenden Kunst. Freiburg : K. Alber, 1975.  Lilly --- 709 L948K

 

 

 

9.3

 

Schlosser, Julius.  Die Kunstliteratur:  ein Handbuch zur Quellenkunde der neueren Kunstgeschichte.  Vienna: A. Schroll & Co., 1924. Lilly --- 709 S345K

 

 

 

 

Readers (collected essays for an overview of art)

 

 

 

10.1

 

 

Art history: selected readings. compiled by Brucia Witthoft. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall, 1986.  Lilly 709 A784, 1986     Nice collection of essays (includes Howard Carter's discovery of Tutankamum), by major art historians.  Excerpts of Wölfflin and a Roslyn Krauss essay.

 

 

 

10.2

 

 

Art history: an anthology of modern criticism. Edited, and with introductory notes, by Wylie Sypher. Gloucester, Mass., P. Smith, 1975, [first ed, Vantage,1963]. Lilly  709 S994, A784, 1975 Surveys of essays by some of the great art historians, many in translations there alone, including Dagobert Frey.

 

 

 

10.3

 

German essays on art history.  Edited by Gert Schiff.  New York : Continuum, 1988. Perkins  830.8 G373, 1982, v. 79

 

 

 

10.4

 

Critical perspectives on art history. Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002. Lilly  709 C934, 2002  

 

 

 

10.5

 

 

Modern perspectives in Western art history; an anthology of 20th-century writings on the visual arts. Edited and with an introduction by W. Eugene Kleinbauer. New York, Holt, Rinehart and Winston [1971] Lilly  704.92 K64, M689, 1971 Selected essays in the more serious aspects of art.  Nice survey of the literature at the beginning.

 

 

 

 

Commentaries  Commentaries on the discipline of art history which include bibliography

 

 

 

11.1

 

Johnson, W. McAllister.  Art History:  Its Use and Abuse .  Toronto; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, 1988. Lilly --- 707.2 J71, A784, 1988

 

 

 

11.2

 

Preziosi, Donald.  Rethinking Art History:  Meditations on a Coy Science.  New Haven: Yale University Press, 1989. Lilly --- 707.2 P944, R438, 1989  

 

 

 

11.3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Crisis in the Discipline [series]."  Art Bulletin.  Ridgway, Brunhilde Sismondo.  "The State of Research on Ancient Art" (initial essay) 68 (March 1986): 7-23, and response, Hood, William.  "In Defense of Art History:  A Response to Brunhilde Sismondo Ridgway" 68 (September 1986): 480-481, reply 481-482.  Also, Cropper, Elizabeth and Charles Dempsey.  "Italian Painting of the Seventeenth Century"  69 (December 1987): 494-509; Gouma-Peterson, Thalia, and Patricia Mathews.  "The Feminist Critique of Art History" 69 (September 1987): 326-357; Haverkamp-Begemann, Egbert.  "Norther Baroque Art" 69 (December 1987): 510-519;  Hindman, Sandra.  "This Illustrated Book:  an Addendum to the State of Research in Northern Renaissance Art" 68 (December 1986): 536-542;  Hood, William.  "Italian Renaissance Art"  69 (June 1987):  174-186;  Kuspit, Donald.  "Conflicting Logic:  Twentieth Century Art at the Cross Roads"  69 (March 1987):  117-132;  Shiff, Richard.  "Art History and teh Nineteenth Century:  Realism and Resistance" 70 (March 1988): 25-49;  Silver, Larry.  "Northern European Art of the Renaissance Era"  68 (December 1986):  518-535;  Spector, Jack.  "The State of Psychoanalytic Research in Art History" 70 (March 1988): 49-76; Stafford, Barbara Maria.  "The Eighteenth Century:  Towards an Interdisciplinary Model" 70 (March 1988): 6-25. 

Lilly Periodicals
~ In March 1986, Brunhilde Sismondo Ridgway was asked to write a commentary on the relationships between a classical historian's approach to monuments and the art historians.  Her essay, viewed by some art historians as a put-down of art history, sparked an assigned methodology/literature review of the disciplines.  Polemics aside, these essays provide some of the richest (and most scholarly commentary on art history every written).

 

 

 

11.4

 

 

"A Range of Critical Perspectives [series]" Art Bulletin 77 (full year). Lilly Periodicals
~ A more subdued commentary methodological commentary by a series of art historians, largely updating the 1986 "Crisis" series.

 

 

 

 

Festschriften

 

 

 

12.1

 

 

Lincoln, Betty Woelk.  Festschriften in Art History, 1960-1975 : Bibliography and Index.  New York: Garland Pub., 1988. Lilly --- 016.7 L736, F418, 1988, Lilly Reference --- 016.7 L736, F418, 1988

 

 

 

12.2

 

 

Rave, Paul Ortwin.  Kunstgeschichte in Festschriften; allgemeine Bibliographie kunstwissenschaftlicher Abhandlungen in den bis 1960 erschienenen Festschriften, unter Mitarbeit von Barabara Stein.  Berlin, Gebr. Mann, 1962. Lilly --- 016.7 R252K, Lilly Reference --- 016.7 R252K

 

 

 

 

Bibliographies by Period 

 

XIX Century

 

 

 

13.1

 

 

Prause, Marianne.  Bibliographie zur Kunstgeschichte des 19. Jahrhunderts:  Publikationen der Jahre 1967-1979 mit Nachtrdgen zu den Jahren 1940-1966.  (Materialien zur Kunst des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts ; Bd. 31).  Munich: Prestel-Verlag, c1984.   Lilly --- 016.709034 P918, B582, 1984

 

 

 

 

Printed Museum Library Catalogs

 

 

 

(see also, South Kensington Museum, in "Bibliographies" section, above).

 

 

 

14.1

 

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art Library.  Library Catalog of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.  2d ed., rev. and enl. 48 Vols.  Boston, Mass. : G. K. Hall, 1980. Lilly Reference --- [Shelved in Lilly Room 113] 016.7081 N567, L697, 1980, suppl.

 

 

 

14.2

 

 

Freer Gallery of Art.  Dictionary Catalog of the Library of the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution [microfiche]. Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1991.  2nd enl. ed., on microfiche.  Lilly Reference --- 016.7095 F856, D554, 1991

 

 

 

14.5

 

 

Harvard University. Fine Arts Library. Catalogue of the Harvard University Fine Arts Library, the Fogg Art Museum. Published: Boston, G. K. Hall, 1971. Lilly Reference --- 016.7 H339C, suppl.

 

 

 

14.6

 

 

Deutsches Archäologisches Institut. Römische Abteilung.  Kataloge der Bibliothek des Deutschen Archaeologischen Instituts Rom;  systematischer Katalog.  3 vols.  Boston, G. K. Hall, 1969. Perkins --- Oversize z913.38 D486KB
~these library catalogs are all part of RLG, so, except for unreconned records, the holdings should all be in the RLG database.

 

 

 

II.  Reference

 

Encyclopedias of Art

 

 

 

15.1

 

The Dictionary of Art.  34 vols. New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. Lilly Reference --- 703 D554, 1996, Perkins Reference --- 703 D554, 1996  
Duke online:  http://www.lib.duke.edu/databases/descriptions/groveart.htm
~massive signed-article dictionary on all aspects of art and art history.  Less scholarly than the Encyclopedia of World Art, below, but more up to date.

 

 

 

15.2

 

Encyclopedia of World Art.  15 vols. + suppls. New York:  McGraw-Hill, 1959-68.  Lilly Reference --- 703 E56, Perkins Reference --- 703 E56, 1959, Divinity Reference --- 703 E56, 1959  
~An older, scholarly encyclopedia of the arts originally written in Italian. Not superseded by the Dictionary of Art.  Signed articles by scholars.  Entries do not cover subjects or literature after 1958 (e.g., little about women artists, Fluxus, etc.).  Fabulous and scholarly bibliography.  Use index volume to locate your articles. 

 

 

 

15.3

 

Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale. 7 [original] vols + suppls. Rome: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana [1958-1966]. Lilly Reference --- 709.3 E56, 1958

 

 

 

15.4

 

Enciclopedia dell'arte medievale.  9 vols.  Rome: Istituto della Enciclopedia italiana, 1991- Lilly Reference --- 709.0203 E56, 1991, Divinity Reference --- Quarto 709.0203 E56, 1991  

 

 

 

 

Encyclopedias - Others Useful for Art

 

 

 

16.1

 

Enciclopedia italiana di scienze, lettere ed arti ....  Rome:  Istituto Giovanni Treccani, 1929-39.  12 vols. Lilly Reference --- 035 E56, Perkins Reference --- Quarto 035 E56
~ a general encyclopedia, but with outstanding black-and-white plates and diagrams, excellent for art history because of the wealth of images contained.  Includes many building floor plans, coins, pictures of buildings.  Best for ancient Roman empire material and renaissance. 

 

 

 

16.2

 

The Catholic Encyclopedia: an International Work of Reference on the Constitution, Doctrine, Discipline, and History of the Catholic Church / edited by Charles G. Herbermann.  New York: Encyclopedia Press, 1913-1914.  This edition only!   Divinity Reference --- 282 C363,  Library Service Center --- 282.0321 C363, 1913 http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/
~although a general encyclopedia, this edition comments freely using a pre-Vatican II point of view.  Very helpful for theology of saints, Eucharist meanings and other religious phenomenon.  Later editions of this encyclopedia do not reflect this worldview.

 

 

 

 

Historiographies

 

see,  http://www.lib.duke.edu/lilly/artlibry/dah/screens/explain.htm#Bibliography for the most complete list.

 

 

 

17.1

 

The Early Years of Art History in the United States:  Notes and Essays on Departments, Teaching, and Scholars. Craig Hugh Smyth and Peter M. Lukehart, eds.. Princeton, N.J. : Dept. of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University, c1993. Lilly --- 707.2 E12, 1993

 

 

 

17.2

 

Munro, Thomas.  The Arts and their Interrelations.  2nd ed.  Cleveland:  Cleveland Museum of Art, 1965.

 

 

 

17.3

 

Kultermann, Udo.  Geschichte der Kunstgeschichte:  Der Weg einer Wissenschaft.  Vienna and Düsseldorf:  Econ, [1966].  2nd ed. Frankfurt am Main and Vienna:  Ullstein, 1981.  English:  The History of Art History.  [New York]: Abaris Books, c1993.  Lilly --- 709 K96, G389, 1990 & Lilly --- 707.2 K96, G389, 1993

 

 

 

17.4

 

Bazin, Germain.  Histoire de l'histoire de l'art: de Vasari à nos jours. Paris: A. Michel, 1986. Lilly --- 709.03 B363, H673, 1986  

 

 

 

17.5

 

Watkin, David. The Rise of Architectural History.  London: Architectural, Press, 1980. Lilly --- 720.72042 W335, R595, 1983  

 

 

 

 

Bibliographic Series

 

 

 

18.1

 

Garland Reference Library of the Humanities.  (New York: Garland Publishing, 1987 ff.)  Locations & call numbers vary, check online catalog for specific fields.
~A long-running annotated bibliographic series by authorities in their respective fields. Not all are art history. A few examples include:  music ethnology, modern drama & medieval literature.

 

 

 

18.2

 

Roberts, Helene E. Iconographic Index to Old Testament subjects represented in photographs and slides of paintings in the visual collections, Fine Arts Library, Harvard University. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities; vol. 729. New York: Garland, 1987. Divinity --- Quarto 755.4 R644, I17, 1987

 

 

 

18.3

 

Medieval scholarship: biographical studies on the formation of a discipline. New York : Garland Pub., 1995-2000. Perkins --- 909.0707202 M489, 1995

 

 

 

18.4

 

Tufts, Eleanor. American Women Artists, Past and Present: a Selected Bibliographic Guide. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities; vol. 1123. New York: Garland Pub., 1989. Lilly Reference --- 016.704042 T914, A512, 1984, Perkins Reference --- 016.704042 T914, A512, 1984

 

 

 

18.5

 

Kleinbauer, W. Eugene.  Early Christian and Byzantine architecture : an annotated bibliography and historiography.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1992. Lilly Reference --- 016.7231 K64, E12, 1992

 

 

 

 

Histories of Art

     

    Art Librarian

    Profile ImageLee Sorensen
    Contact Info:
    email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
    104 Lilly Library
    Box 90727
    919 660-5994

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait