Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Images Collections at Duke 

Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/images  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Other Images             Print Page
  
 

A Word to the Wise

Most images are NOT on the Web or in e-collections.  Copyright restrictions, availablilty and other reasons mean that only a fraction of images available are online.  Most research images are printed.  Locating print sources and scanning is still the best way to use unique images.  Copyright generally allows ONE copy of any image to be scanned for scholarship and classroom presentation.

Pinted images are indexed. You don't have to browse endless magazine runs or books to find images.   Some Indexes of print images are even electronic.  Most users find that the little extra work of finding a print image is worth the results.

 

 

Indexes to Images

Art

  • Art Index/Art Abstracts - online periodical database which indexes images in art journals separately from the articles.  Since art magazines are heavily illustrated with unique images, this is a major source for pictures of art.
  • Index of Christian Art - art from the post-classical to medieval; all Judeo-Christian-themed objects
  • World painting index. (Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1977-2003.) Lilly Ready Reference ND45 .H38 - indexes images appearing in major art books.
  • The illustrated Bartsch. Lilly NE90 .B213 1978 - index and accompanying images of incunables (early prints) to Baroque. 38 vols.
  • The New Hollstein . . . etchings, engravings and woodcuts. Roosendaal/The Netherlands : Koninklijke Van Poll/Rijksprentenkabinet, 1993-   Lilly NE663 .H65 1993   - index and accompanying images of historic prints 46 vols (at pressent).

Art-Specific Subject Headings

Library subject headings allow for any topic to be linked ". . . in art."  For example, "Crying in art," "Women in Art," "Death in art," etc.  These are books about that subject in art and are usually heavily illustrated.

Social classes in art.                Violence in art
City and town life in art              Food in art
Blacks in art.                               Slavery in art.

 

 

Locating Books with Pictures

Books that have pictures in them are described with "ill." in the collation of the book record.  If color, it says "some coll."  Here's an example:

 

Image Librarian

Profile ImageLee Sorensen
Contact Info:
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait