Broadest/Most Used

- AP Images - photos from the Associated Press, historic, contemporary, etc.
- Flickr.com - largest free image collection for scholars & public EXPLANATION
- ARTstor - not just art, but historic photos, buildings, popular culture; over 100,000 images
- Insight Visual Collections - High-quality image collections (not all available to the public)
- Duke Digital Collections - Duke's Special Collections' Library scans of advertising, historic photos, manuscripts, Women's Studies
Embedded Collections (image searching in journal databases)
- ProQuest - in "Advanced Search" limit the field to "Image Caption"
- Jstor - type title in key-word search, a separate tab appears for found images (some in color)
Commercial Collections (charge for use, but browsing is free)
- Corbis - Bill's Gates' image fee-based image service; selected categories can be royalty-free
- Getty Images - a stock images service (generally for commerical purposes, not associated with the Getty Museum)
Duke Pics

NEW! Sites on Flickr Suggest a Site
- Duke University Archives - historic Duke photos (fun and serious)
- Nasher Museum of Art's official Flickr page
Art
Art Museum websites generally have a selection of high-quality images from their individual collections.
See also,
Art Index/Art Abstracts - online periodical database which indexes images in art journals separately from the articles. Since art magazines are heavily illustrated with unique images, this is a major source for pictures of art.
Classical Studies

- ARTstor - strong on classical images
- Flickr.com - Yahoo's free picture-sharing website. Scholars & public's images include many archaeological sites, museum objects
- Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke) - Dept of Art, Art Hist & Visual Studies study collection, Classical Collection, and commercial art collections (Archivision, Davis, and Saskia).
- Camio - art from American art museums (includes ancient). All photos take directly from objects
- Index of Christian Art - Princeton's photo initative, includes late classical religious (not just Christian) art
- Perseus Digital Library - fundamentally a classical-subject digital collection, other periods have been added
Microfiche
Index of Ancient Art and Architecture [microform]. - 100,000 images microfilmed from the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut collection. Use the printed index guide (a book) to locate images. Images are scanable via Lilly's microfiche reader. Lilly Microfiche M204.
Photography

- ARTstor - click photography collections, then search
- Flickr.com - largest free image collection for scholars & public MORE INFO
- George Eastman House- largest photography collection in the United States
-
Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke) - Image collections developed by Duke academic departments including Art, Art History & Visual Studies; Classical Studies; Information Science + Information Studies: Nasher Museum of Art; Music; Theater; the School of Nursing (only SoN); and the Visualization Technology Group; as well as commercially licensed art and architecture collections.
-
Life Magzine Photo Archive - the archive of the magazines of Time/Life (not necessarily the photos that appeared in the magazine). Strong subject search [a near-complete run of Life magazine is at Lilly Library]
-
Marburger Index - art held in German collections, good for classical sculpture [click the British flage for English]
Science

Medical
- CINAHL Plus - Nursing and Allied Health literature - click the 'visual search' tab under the search boxes to find images
Medical- History
- Historical images in medicine - Duke Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine
- Images from the History of Medicine - National Library of Medicine Images
- National and International collection of medical image databases, maintained by Duke Medical Center History of Medicine collection.
Science Portal
- TASI - Comprehensive image portal for scientific images
- NEW! Bridgeman History of Science Image
History

Images Collections at Duke
Duke Digital Collections - Advertising, historic photos, manuscripts, Women's Studies
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts - CMRS
Cartography
David Rumsey Maps - Part of the Insight Collection, spectacular, large-scale images of historic maps
History of Science - see Science section, below
Holocaust
Shoah Foundation Images - Survivors and other witnesses to the Holocaust
American
Harper's Weekly - scans of original line drawings from the magazine (great for Civil War)
Picturing U.S. History - Online Resource for Teaching with Visual Evidence, maintained by the American Social History Project.
Britain/Ireland
Institute for British and Irish Studies (USC) IBIS
Posters
Soviet-era posters - a collection on flickr
Religious

Christian
Art in the Christian Tradition - Vanderbilt University's collection of historic an contemporary relgious art and symbolism. A sophisticated tool employing the ICONCLASS hierarchy.
Index of Christian Art - Princeton's photo initative, includes late classical religious (not just Christian) art
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait