Popular Databases
Choosing the right database to begin researching your topic (1 min, 5 secs tutorial)
Hot Topics
- Slave Letters
Letters written by people who were enslaved in the United States are rare. Slaves were generally prohibited from learning to read and/or write, often with severe consequences threatened. Click above for a list of slave letters in RBMSCL. - Retrieving African-American Women's History
A Methodological Guide to Manuscript Sources in the Special Collections Library at Duke University - African American Newspapers
How to Find Articles
Finding Articles on a Topic
In a hurry? Use keywords in the Article Search box on the library home page.
- This box searches several of the big popular full-text article databases.
Need better results? Find a database for your subject. View a 1-minute tutorial on choosing a database.
- Select a category and subcategory and click "Go" to see a list of useful databases.
- Often the top 3 databases on the list are highly recommended.
- Try a keyword search within a database; if that returns too many articles, try subject term searching.
- If the database does not contain full text, use
.
Still stuck?
African American Resources
- African American newspapers 19th Century
Provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. - America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. - Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. - Chicago Defender
Founded in 1905 by Robert Sengstacke Abbott, the Chicago Defender, has been the voice of the African-American Community in Chicago and across the United States. - Ethnic newswatch
Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.
Subject Guide |
Karen Jean HuntStuck? Ask a Librarian!
Contact Info:
RBMSCL
rm. 206f
660-5922
Send Email
Subjects:
African Studies, African American Studies, RBMSCL
RBMSCL
rm. 206f
660-5922
Send Email
Subjects:
African Studies, African American Studies, RBMSCL
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait