Last Updated: Aug 19, 2012
- Oxford Music Online
The best place to start your music research. This resource includes the essential Grove music dictionaries as well as the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. The articles in Grove are scholarly, signed articles which provide a wealth of information about composers, performers, regions, musical forms and genres, and terminology. The entries feature comprehensive bibliographies as well as works lists for each composer that specify where the music can be found in scholarly editions of composers' works. The Encyclopedia of Popular Music covers a broad range of popular music including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music and features both discographies and bibliographies for many entries.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Comprehensive resource on world music, with in-depth coverage of regions, musical genres and practices, and the cultural context of the music of each region. Includes extensive bibilographies as well as audio clips and printed musical examples.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Music Reference ML105 .B16 2001
- Harvard Dictionary of Music
Excellent general music dictionary. Coverage includes entries for musical terms, forms, genres, and musical instruments.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes a variety of scholarly resources, including music journals, books, and dissertations. Provides good international coverage of music resources. This database is limited to abstracts, but links for full text are available for many articles using the Get it @ Duke button.
- IIMP (International Index of Music Periodicals)
Indexes both scholarly and popular music journals covering a wide variety of musical periods and styles including classical music, pop and popular music, rock, rap and hip-hop, blues, jazz, traditional and folk music, world music, music equipment and technology, recording techniques and technology, and the music, radio, and music video industries. Full text is provided for most articles.
- RIPM Index to Music Periodicals and Online Archive
Indexes international music journals from the 19th through the early part of the 20th centuries, with digital full-text images of many of the journals through their growing online archive.
Provides access to back issues of core scholarly journals in music and other disciplines.
- Project Muse
Digital access to journals and books published by university presses
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology.
- Rock's Backpages
Extensive archive of articles and reviews with particular focus on the 1960s through the 1990s.