Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies 

Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/slavicstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  

Historical Newspapers

Russia

Russian/NIS Universal Databases

Commercial service providing access to central and regional newspapers from Russia, Ukraine, Central Asia, Caucasus, and Baltics. Also offers "Current Digest of Post-Soviet Press."

Старинные сибирские газеты - Электронный архив газет
Collection of Siberian newspapers from 1858-1945. Includes Сибирская газета (Sibirskaia Gazeta), Сибирская жизнь, Советская Сибирь, Томские губернские ведомости (1858-1910), and Томский листок. From the Novosibirsk State Regional
Scientific Library (Новосибирской областной научной библиотеки).

Казанская периодическая печать XIX-XX вв.
Project of Kazan State University to digitize Kazan periodical press of the 19th-20th centuries. Includes «Казанские известия» (1811-1820), one of Russia's first provincial newspapers.

Olonetskiie Gubernskiie Vedomosti (1838-1917)
Petrozavodsk State University's project to digitalize and publish the entire collection of one of Russia's first provincial newspapers in free access on the Web.

Татарская периодическая печать 1905-1917 гг.
Project of Kazan State University to digitize important Tatar periodicals from 1905-1917.

Уральские газеты начала 20 века
Full text database of articles from newspapers of the Ural region (1919). Selected titles are also available as page images from the Chelyabinsk Regional Universal Scientific Library. The site also includes «Власть народа» (1918). Additional resources are available on CD-ROM "Урал на изломе" (The Urals at the Crossroads). [*note - pages images on Web version are too small to read. For best results, use a zoomable image viewer]

«Ведомости» (Vedmosti)
Digital images of the "first Russian printed newspaper" (1702-1727). From the Russian National Library.

Электронная библиотека современной городской прессы Санкт-Петербурга
Proposed project to capture contemporary urban press of Saint Petersburg.


Estonia
Digiteeritud eesti ajalehed
Contains images of newspapers published in Estonia between 1821-1944.

Finland
The Finnish Historical Newspaper Library 1771-1890
Finnish newspapers published between 1771 - 1890

Hungary
1956 in the Hungarian Electronic Library (Magyar Elektronikus Könyvtár)

Latvia
Digitalizetie laikraksti
Collection of 100 newspapers published from 1886 to 1956, from the Latvian National Library. See also English interface.


Mongolia
Digital Archive of Mongolian Newspapers 1990-1995
59 Mongolian newspaper titles published during the transition period of 1990-1995, held at the Press Institute of Mongolia. Funded by the Endangered Archives Programme.

Poland
Dziennik Zwiazkowy
Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News. This database includes the first ten years (1908-1917) of publication, which represent local, national and international issues of utmost concern to the Polish community of Chicago at that time.

Serbia
Digital National Library of Serbia - Newspapers and Magazines
Access to digitized newspapers such as Politika (1904-1941), Belgrade Illustrated Newspaper (1866), Serbian Illustrated Newspaper (1881-1882), and others. Browseable by date.


      
     

    Your Librarian

    Profile ImageErnest Zitser, Ph.D.
    Contact Info:
    230 Bostock/Perkins Library
    Box 90195
    Duke University
    Durham NC 27708-0195
    Phone: 919-660-5847
    Fax: 919-668-3134

    Office Hours:
    Tuesdays, 10am-12pm, 309 Languages Bldg.
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait