Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
 
Admin Sign In 

Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies 

Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/slavicstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images             Print Page
  

Slavic Image Databases

      

    General Image Databases with Slavic Content

    Academic

    • Subscription Image Databases
      • AccuNet/AP multimedia archive
        Includes a photo database and graphics database from the Associated Press that provides over two million photographs dating back to 1826, and a professionally produced collection of more than 45,000 maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations, etc. Search all the words in photo cut-lines. Search for individuals or events (e.g. International Women's Day). Set up for academic users, with easy copyright permissions help page.
      • ARTstor
        Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures, including Slavic.
      • Complete Index to World Film since 1895
        Includes the credits of more than 381,000 films from 175 countries. A keyword search is available across the database by title, person, year, origin, or genre, with hypertext links among films, actors, directors, and other technical credits.
    • Online Image Databases
      • World Digital Gallery (Library of Congress) -- includes hundreds of free, high-quality images from prints, books, and historical maps related to Russia, Central Asia, and Eastern Europe
      • American Memory Project -- Library of Congress' photography resources project, includes non-US images.
      • Visual Information Access (Harvard University Libraries) -- union catalog of visual resources, focusing on artistic and cultural materials. including Slavic (e.g. images of costumes from Ballets Russe).
      • The REALIA Project (Rich Electronic Archive for Language Instruction Anywhere, Oberlin College Digital Collections) -- a searchable digitized media database that publishes royalty-free, faculty-reviewed media for the teaching and study of modern languages and cultures. The focus of the REALIA Project is realia: Materials which convey the everyday life of different cultures, including Slavic.

    Commercial

    • Corbis (Bill Gate's image collection), claiming to be “world's largest collection of digital images. For sale, but nice thumbnail index.
    • National Geographic Photography
    • Flickr-- Yahoo.com's image sharing website, 32 millions of images worldwide, under Creative Commons license.
    • Google.com Advanced Image Finder -- locates images imbedded in web pages; best used for proper names

     

     

        
       

      Your Librarian

      Profile ImageErnest Zitser, Ph.D.
      Contact Info:
      230 Bostock/Perkins Library
      Box 90195
      Duke University
      Durham NC 27708-0195
      Phone: 919-660-5847
      Fax: 919-668-3134

      Office Hours:
      Tuesdays, 10am-12pm, 309 Languages Bldg.
      Send Email

      Subjects:
      Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies

       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait