This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Conducting Research in Africa" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Conducting Research in Africa  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/conductingresearchinafrica Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CountryWatch

CountryWatch includes history, political, economic, health, and social information as well as demographic data about every country in the world.

Selected List

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Angola [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Botswana [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Burundi [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Congo (RC) [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Cote d'Ivoire [electronic resource].  

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Egypt [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Gambia [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Ghana [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Kenya [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Malawi [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Mali [electronic resource].  

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Mozambique [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Namibia [electronic resource].   

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Nigeria [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Rwanda [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Senegal [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Sierra Leone [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Somalia [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - South Africa [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Sudan [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Tanzania [electronic resource]. 

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Togo [electronic resource].  

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Uganda [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Zambia [electronic resource].

CountryWatch Forecast Brief - Zimbabwe [electronic resource].

[For a complete list search the Duke University Libraries catalog]

 

Language Learning

Looking to learn a few words before you go?

Duke University Libraries' Foreign Language Learning guide!

Byki Online (Duke Only): An online language instruction resource. This new subscription to Byki Online gives users free access to flash cards, blogs, and other tools to help you learn or revisit more than 70 languages.  New users must create an account on the Byki log-in page, with a username and password, to gain access.

 

Country and International Affairs Databases

NewsBank NewsFile [electronic resource].

Provides comprehensive coverage of national and international news, including hundreds of global newspapers from every region of the world.

PAIS International [electronic resource].

PAIS, the Public Affairs Information Service, is a comprehensive indexing and abstracting resource in all areas of public affairs including international relations. Note that this database does not include the full text of articles.

United Nations treaty collection [electronic resource] = Collection des traités des Nations Unies.

Collects international treaties, including information on their signatories and statuses.

World Bank e-Library [electronic resource].

Online access to World Bank books and working papers relating to development, economics, and policy (including health policy and health economics). They are divided into 6 collections: African, Ease Asian, Eastern Europe & Central Asian, Latin American, Middle East - North African, and South Asian collections.

World news digest [serial].

Summaries of major news events on the international level going back to 1940.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Jean Hunt
Logo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
International and Area Studies
Perkins Library
919-660-5930
k.j.hunt@duke.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip