Skip to main content

POLSCI 169: Chinese Politics: Getting Started

Key Reference Titles

General:

Chinese History

Political Sciences Reference database

Other Subjects on China:

Databases in Chinese

China academic journals (中国知网): covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC.

Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (Chinese, index in English)

Duxiu (读秀): indexes more than 2.3 million digitized books published in PRC, half of them are available full text.

Ren min ri bao = People's Daily (人民日报) : provides full text and original image of this daily newspaper from 1946 to current.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (Chinese, traditional)

WiseSearch 慧科搜索 (Chinese, interface can be in English)

WiseNews, the News archive, is updated every day with items from over 1,600 content providers, including all 18 Chinese and English newspapers of Hong Kong, and a large number of other top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Mainland, Taiwan and some Asia Pacific countries.

See also Chinese studies databases

Databases in English

Bibliography of Asian Studies is the main English language database on Asian Studies. You can often combine your search on it with the following:

  • China Data Online: Statistics of P.R.China by regions and categories; Statistical yearbooks; Census
  • China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
    This collection provides a wide variety of original source material relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, 
  • Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980
    From the National Archives, Kew; FO files China; British Foreign Office files for China provides files adressing developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.

See also: Asian Studies databases

Top Journals: 
China

Political Scicence

      Find Books in the Catalog

      Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN & Worldcat together or seperately for books. The following are some sugested subject keywords:

      • China
      • China Civil War
      • Communism China
      • Cold War
      • Democracy
      • Foreign relations
      • Mao Zedong
      • Nationalism
      • Social Conditions
      • Taiwan

      Subject Librarian for China

      Luo Zhou
      Contact:
      Office: Bostock 229

      Tel: 919-660-5803

      Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.