Skip to main content

HST195JS Chinese Images of the West: Getting Started

Welcome

Please feel free to contact me(luo.zhou@duke.edu) for questions or to schedule a research consultation.

Find Books in the Catalog

Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN & Worldcat together or seperately for books. The following are some sugested subject keyword:

  • China—Civilization--Western Influences
  • China--Relations-Foreign countires
  • China--Relations--Europe
  • China--Foreign public opinion
  • Asia--Relations--Europe
  • East and West, China
  • Globalization, China
  • Jesuits--Missions--China
  • Nationalism--China
  • National characteristics--Chinese

Tip: When you find a good title, look at its subject and use that to further search in order to find titles on the same subject.

Databases in Chinese

China academic journals (中国知网): covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC.

Duxiu (读秀): indexes more than 2.3 million digitized books published in PRC, half of them are available full text.

Ren min ri bao = People's Daily (人民日报) : provides full text and original image of this daily newspaper from 1946 to current.

National index to Chinese newspapers and periodicals, 1833-1949 全国报刊索引 : indexes Chinese newspapers and periodicals published 1833-1949.

Key Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies is the main English language database on Asian Studies, You can often combine your search on it with the following:

See also: Find Databases by Subject

Top Journals:

See also: Core Journals in East Asian Studies (English Language)

Subject Librarian for China

Luo Zhou
Contact:
Office: Bostock 229

Tel: 919-660-5803

Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.

Digital Collection

Sidney D. Gamble Photographs (from Duke): Approximately 5000 photographs, primarily of China, 1917-1932 by Sidney Gamble, a sociologist from the United States.