Skip to main content

ARTHIST170: Chinese Buddhist Art: Chinese Buddhist Art

Some Starting points

Start with the reference sources:

Oxford Art Online - Oxford's combined art databases(incl. Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference), searchable uniformly or individually

Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese art

The Cambridge History of China
  Vol. 1. The Ch'in and Han Empires, 221 B.C.–A.D. 220 ,
  Vol.10Late Ch'ing 1800–1911, part 1 
  Vol.11 Late Ch'ing, 1800–1911, part 2
  Vol.12,Republican China 1912–1949 part 1
  Vol.13,Republican China 1912–1949, Part 2 
   

The Cambridge illustrated history of China has a chapter on Buddhism and Buddhist art 

Books on Chinese Buddhist Art

Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN & Worldcat together or seperately for books. The following are some sugested subject keywords:

  • Art, Buddhist
  • Art, Buddhist China
  • Art, Buddhist China
  • Cave Temples
  • Cave Temples, Buddhist
  • Cave Temples, Buddhist, China
  • Stupa
  • Pagoda
  • Catalogs (can be combined with other keywords like "Art China Catalogs Han", you don't need to put in dynasty as a keyword)

Tip: When you find a good title, look at its subject and use that to further search in order to find titles on the same subject.

Databases

Databases:

JSTOR : full text database of archived academic journals. There're links to images in Jstor and ARTstor

ATLA religion database: full text with publications on Buddhism

Bibliography of Asian Studies : index database on scholarly literature on Asia in Western languages

Art Abstracts & Art Index Retrospective : the two are the same database but covers different year.

China: Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 provides a wide variety of original source material in English relating to the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China from 1793 to 1980, together with rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings

Journals on Asian Arts & Buddhism

Asian Arts:

Artibus Asiae : has scholarly articles and research notes devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia. Initiated in 1925, it is now published by the Museum Rietberg Zurich in cooperation with the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery , Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

Artibus Asiae. Supplementum : The series Artibus Asiae Supplementum complements the journal and has a broad range of lavishly illustrated studies

Archives of Asian art : devoted to the arts of Asia. Each issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year.

Ars Orientalis : cosponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution. It is an annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia.

Oriental art : from Britain, it has research articles on Chinese, and other Aisan art, including articles on the art of Buddhism, Hinduism and Islam.

Orientations: from Hong Kong, it is for collectors and connoisseurs of Asian art offering information on the arts of East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent and Southeast Asia and provides insights into the international Asian art market.

Buddhism:

Journal of Chinese religions

The journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies

The journal of Asian studies

Journal of the American Academy of Religion

Subject Librarian for China

Luo Zhou
Contact:
Office: Bostock 229

Tel: 919-660-5803

Office hour: Friday 1-3pm @ Bostock 229 or send me an email to set up a consultation.