This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Caricature to Comic Strip" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Caricature to Comic Strip  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/caricature Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference (Initial Research)

 

Oxford Art Online
- Oxford's combined art databases, searchable uniformly or individually

 

Book Searching

1. Duke "Classic" Library Catalog - always use the old ("Classic") version for better and more accurate searching

  These are all library subject headings

  • Prints, English -- 18th century.  
  • Prints -- Social aspects -- England.  
  • Caricature -- England -- History -- 18th century.  
  • English wit and humor, Pictorial. 
  • American wit and humor, Pictorial.
  • Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
  • United States -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.

2. Worldcat - combined (union) catalog of all libraries

   Use Worldcat to locate exhibition catalogs and books for interlibrary loan and archives of collections

 

Journal Articles

  1. Art Abstracts/Art Index - art history journal indexes which include articles on historic cartooning

  2. Artbibliographices Modern - database of late 19th and 20th-century articles and exhibition catalogs.

  3. Bibliography of the History of Art - art articles in periodicals all over the discipline

  4. Jstor - limit collections "Art History" and "History" or do a general ("federated") search of all collections.  JSTOR will pull up images in JSTOR or ARTSTOR based on your search.

 

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip