Skip to main content

History 321 Modern Caribbean After Emancipation: Getting Started

Through studies of Jamaica, Cuba, Trinidad, Barbados, Martinique, Haiti and other areas, the class will examine the plantation system and the resistance of the enslaved, the struggle for abolition and freedom, and U.S. influence in the region.

Primary Documents in Rubenstein Library

Recueil de vues des lieux principaux de la colonie françoise de Saint-DominguePonce, Nicolas, 1746-1831, engraver. A Paris : Chez M. Moreau de Saint-Méry, rue Caumartin, no. 31 : M. Ponce, rue Saint-Hyacinthe, no. 19 : M. Phelipeau, rue Saint Jacques, près celle des Mathurins, no. 45, A.P.D.R. 1791.

Mapa de la Isla de Cuba y plano de la Habana. B. May y Ca. [S.I.] : B. May, 1853.

Charles E. Doty photographs, 1898-1900. 

International postcard collection, ca. 1900-1982 and n.d. International collection of picture postcards (6500 items), almost all of which date from 1920 or earlier. Arranged by country and filed in 28 albums. A Collection Guide provides description and inventory.

Ernest Gillette photographs, 1910-1933 and undated, bulk 1920-1924. Civil engineer with Stone & Webster, Inc. Collection includes approximately 600 mostly 3.25"x 4.5" black-and-white photographs taken by Gillette primarily depicting Stone & Webster projects in the Dominican Republic, especially canal building. There are also photographs of the engineering crew and their recreational activities, and images of the U.S. Marine presence, building of the sugar cane industry, markets, railroads, factories, coffee production, and scenes of Dominican and Haitian towns and villages.

Caribbean sea migration collection, 1959-2003. Materials from (or related to) the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, the bulk of which dates from 1994-1996. The Collection Guide provides inventory and description of print and photographic materials; part of the collection has been digitized and is available as part of the Caribbean Sea Migration Collection - Duke Digital Collections.      

Monograph of Haiti. (unprocessed) 1932.

Artists' books, Ediciones Vigia. 1996-2011.

Petra Barth photographs, 2001-2013, bulk 2006-2013. Documentary photographer with projects in Latin America, Eastern Europe, and Asia. Collection includes photographic prints of everyday life in El Salvador, and broader coverage of the Caribbean. A Collection Guide provides description and inventory.


Register as a Rubenstein Researcher

Create a registration account. Your registration will be finalized when you visit the Rubenstein Reading Room.

Request material for onsite use. Allow 2 full business days for materials to arrive.

Primary Documents Online

Finding Books, Journal Articles & Newspapers

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman
Room 231, Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708