Skip to main content

Canadian History: Getting Started

History/Canadian Studies 183S Spring 2011

Key Databases

America: History and Life
Index to scholarly articles and books on U.S. and Canadian history.

Canadian Foreign Relations Index

CPI.Q Canadian Periodical Index
Provides comprehensive Canadian and international periodical coverage.

PAIS and Political Science Abstracts
Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories on Public Policy and Political Science.


Background Information

France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia.

The Canadian Encyclopedia 

Quebec Encylopedia

CPI.Q Canadian Periodicals Index
Contains Contemporary Canadian Bios, Authors etc.

Canada's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This British publication Includes prominent Canadians

Canada: A Reader's Guide
Bilingual guide to sources on Canada.

 Canadian Information by Subject: History of North America
Subject guide to internet links from the Library and Archives Canada.

The Oxford companion to Canadian history
Also in print: Perkins/Bostock Library Reference  F1026 .O93 2004  

North America: a Continental Overview of Environmental Issues
Designed to provide students and general readers with a concise overview of major environmental issues facing the contemporary world.

Britain and Canada
From Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics and History

Canadian almanac & directory.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference AY414 .C2 

Canadian Who's Who.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference CT280 .C363   

Encyclopedia of Canada's peoples 
Perkins/Bostock LibraryReference   F1006 .E66 1999  


Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries