Skip to main content

VMS 535S/HIST 530S Camera Asia - PHOTOGRAPHY SOURCES: Getting Started

Rubenstein Riches

Duke's Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library has untold unique resources.  Because of the nature of its collections, its riches are not as discernable through the Duke catalog as other material.  In addition to doing a search limited to Rubenstein Library, email or query a special collections librarian for a consult on what may be of interest.  RUBENSTEIN SEARCH

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Oxford Art Online
- Art databases, searchable uniformly or individually, produced by Oxford University Press. 

Oxford Reference Online (includes photography)
~ Reference books migrated to electronic form.  Many art and photography sources not included above.

Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography / John Hannavy, ed.  2 vols. New York : Taylor & Francis Group, c2008.  Lilly LibraryReference R9 .H25 2008
~ newest reference source for the history of photography.  Scholarly, a good place to begin.

The Oxford companion to the photograph  Lenman, Robin. also hardcopy Lilly Library: TR9 .O94 2005
~ online and hardcopy starting point for photography history, terms, bibliography, etc.

The Abrams encyclopedia of photography / edited by Brigitte Govignon. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 2004.  Lilly Library Reference TR9 .P4813 2004 
~ smaller overview on photography, excellent plates.

George Eastman House - Notes on Photographs - a website full of reliable information on Phototography and photographers.

Specialized Reference


Graphics Atlas (online) - online source for explaining and identifying print processes.  Sponsored by the Image Permanence Institute.

The Focal encyclopedia of photography / edited by Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia  3rd ed.  Boston : Focal Press, c1993.  Lilly Library Reference R9 .F6 1993  
~ best handbook explaining processes, techniques and materials, historic and contemporary


International photography : George Eastman House index to photographers, collections, and exhibitions / Andrew H. Eskind, editor ; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors.  Edition  Enl.  3rd enl. ed.    New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1998.  Lilly Library  Reference  TR12 .E85 1998  
~ the most comprehensive indexes of collections and locations of individual phtographs and works.



Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen
Box 90727
Lilly Library
Website / Blog Page