LibGuides: WRITING 230K: Writing Performance across Cultures: Finding Articles

Find News Articles

Use the library's subscriptions through these databases to get more than today's news

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search for global news and information content, including Dow Jones, Reuters Newswires, and The Wall Street Journal. Text & data mining prohibited by license. See the "more" link for details.
Text and data mining (TDM) of Factiva content is prohibited by license. TDM includes mass downloading of content via scripts (aka scraping) *and* via Factiva's internal tools for downloading content. Please use ProQuest's TDM Studio for text mining.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Search selected translation of articles (1995-2013) from non-United States media sources covering political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events

Use these databases to find articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes more than 500 titles, including 200+ full text, covering communication and mass media (both scholarly and professional).

International Index to the Performing Arts
IIPA draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Provides abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers.

Historical Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

SocINDEX with Fulltext
Offers fulltext articles and comprehensive coverage of sociology.

ProQuest
Scholarly journals in all fields and popular/media sources

GenderWatch
A full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, and newsletters devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

JSTOR
Searchable archive of the major academic research journals across the humanities and social sciences; excludes articles published in the last five years.

Film & Television Literature Index
Includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Finding Subject-Specific Databases

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases: